Skip to content

The I Noticed Board

December 8, 2009

Big Sister is in school, and positive reinforcement abounds there.  She has told me about getting her name on the “I Noticed Board”.  What exactly gets your name on the board?  Doing just what you’re supposed to be doing — paying attention and listening, sitting quietly, etc.   I think she’s even gotten trips to the treasure box for things like that.

In the past I wondered if it was such a good idea to make a big ol’ fuss about people doing just what they ought to be.  Then I started just doing things that I was supposed to be doing, and I kind of liked it when I got a few pats on the back now and then.  It helps!  And you know what else?  The Bible tells me so.

Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.  (1 Thessalonians 5:11)

But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.  (Hebrews 3:13)

I read that second verse and I got to thinking about sin’s deceitfulness.  Maybe sometimes we think that what we’re doing doesn’t matter.  That the whole idea behind It’s A Wonderful Life is a wonderful lie.  We get to thinking, The world would still spin if I wasn’t here. 

And it would. 

But it would not be the same.   Not if any one of us was not around.

And we should tell each other that.

A lot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

