Skip to content

Thank you, thank you very much!

November 25, 2009

Some things I am thankful for…

The Husband.  We just had a super fantastic mini-vacation.  And by mini, I mean it was brief and we didn’t go far, but we had the best time.  I love that when we go out alone, it feels like we’re teenagers on a date.  I love that it doesn’t matter where we go, we just enjoy our time together and we appreciate the fact that we have the time to begin with.  I love that we both know when we’re each using things we’ve learned or are learning through various marriage building books or seminars, but instead of thinking, “Ugh, he/she is just doing that because he/she read it in the book,” we are grateful that the other one is trying.  I’m thankful that looking at him still makes my heart skip a beat, too.  And I’m ever so thankful that we stayed in a hotel for our mini-vacation, even if the bed did squeak a bit.  (Oh come on, you didn’t think I was going to keep it all sappy, did you?)

My Girls.  As much as I realize there’s a me beyond being their mommy, ohmygosh I am so thankful for those two treasures.   I love how they play together, even when my living room floor is filled with pillows and I’m constantly told that I’m stepping in shark-infested waters.  And I love hearing them laugh when I collapse on the floor screaming in agony after one of the aforementioned sharks has bitten me on the leg.  I love how much I’m learning from them, about life and about myself

My Family.  Yes, we have had our ups and downs, and we continue to — especially when I’m cranky — but I love how we seem to come out from the downs stronger, and how we have the most fun during the ups.  I am so very thankful that my parents live nearby — and The Husband’s parents too.   I think I have to be one of the, if not the, luckiest woman in the world when it comes to parents-in-law.  And I am a huge fan of my sister-in-law and her husband.  And my sister’s husband?  Well, I would have picked him out for her if she hadn’t.

My Friends.  I am probably one of the, if not the, moodiest people I have ever met.  I don’t even know what to expect when it comes to my moods, so there’s no way any of my friends can know.  (I promise I’m working on that.)  I get my feelings hurt super easily, even when I know there’s no reason to.  It’s ridiculous.  In spite of these serious character flaws though, I have the most amazing friends.  I don’t know how they put up with me, but somehow they do, and they are generous, kind, loving, and patient.  And fun, so. much. fun.  I don’t know if I could handle boring friends — I’m glad I don’t have any!

My God.  Last, but most certainly NOT least.  I am so thankful that God decided it was a good idea to make the world, give the world Jesus, and for some odd reason, make me.  I don’t know how I would have made it through many of the things I’ve managed to get myself into without Him.  I don’t know where I would be now.  I don’t even want to think about it.  And I am so thankful that He is patient with me as I work out what I’m supposed to be doing for Him with my life.  Living for Him, yes, but what if there’s more?  I’m thankful that He’s always in the same place… And that makes me wonder why it takes me so long to find Him sometimes.  Duh.

And, really, there isn’t anything I shouldn’t be giving thanks for.  See? 

Happy Thanksgiving!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 11:50 pm

    Have a great thanksgiving! I will be sure to send you some WD40 for Christmas, unless you think you need it immediately! 😉

  2. Carrie M. permalink
    November 26, 2009 2:39 am

    🙂 and I am thankful for you!
    Happy Thanksgiving ❤

  3. Angel permalink
    December 1, 2009 12:35 pm

    Hey girlie,

    I soooooooooooooooooo understand the “moody” thing. Please don’t think that you are the only one who struggles with it. I don’t know a woman who doesn’t.

    I just thought I would let you know. 🙂

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

