Skip to content

The Kearsie Haiku

November 12, 2009

Kearsie likes haikus
I wrote this one just for her
I wish it rhymed more

Dear Kearsie,

I hope you liked my little tribute up there.  I bet you didn’t think I’d actually write a blog post about you.  But I figure I kind of owed it to you after I tarnished your blog with hotel sex.  (But you wrote about cow castration first, remember.)

So, you and I met at a teeny tiny Baptist college in a teeny tiny Florida town.  The first thing I remember about you is getting back rubs in New Testament class, and I would’ve loved to have stayed and listen to Dr. Cook talking about… Well, whatever it was he talked about, because I don’t actually remember much from those days.  I may have blocked them.  If I could find my notes, though, it would all come back to me.  I took awesome notes.  Did you ever borrow my notes?  Did we ever study together?  See, I don’t remember anything.

Well, that’s not entirely true.  I remember you walking with Lance, and somehow I knew that his birthday was the same as mine.  Maybe he was carrying a balloon?  Or maybe I was, and he said something.  I don’t know.

But then I left good ol’ Teeny Tiny Baptist College to spend a few years making really bad decisions, and you and Lance continued on and finished school, and you can probably remember much of what you learned.  Which is probably a great thing since you guys are going into missions.  That’ll help.

Fast forward a few years.  You guys get all graduated and get jobs and stuff, have kids.  I get all divorced and stuff.  And remarried.  And had one kid, and another on the way.  Right?  Wasn’t I pregnant?  I don’t remember.  Anyway, then came MySpace.

Dear, sweet MySpace.  That is where we… Can I even say reconnected?  Because we weren’t all that tight in college.  But via MySpace and Yahoo Messenger, we got tight.  Late night chats, deep discussions.  And, okay, not-so-deep discussions.  We bonded.  We bonded and then we blogged.  We blog-bonded.

We used to have tons of time to talk, and then came life.  A job, a house, going to bed earlier and not staying up all night on the computer, caring that Hubs and The Husband might want us in bed at a decent time.  Things like that. 

But no matter what, I have always known that if I need some prayer or if I need someone to talk to, I can call you.  I hope you know the same goes for me.  Like, you can call me if you need me?  For serious.  I promise I’m working harder at not leaving my cell phone in the car overnight. 

And, on a lighter note, because I don’t want Winn to get all queasy reading this, when I need a laugh, I know where to find it.  I may not get the whole Twilight thing, but these crack me up.  Also, hearing about your adventures with your girls — because it gives me so much to look forward to!  (By the way, does the younger one have a bra yet?  And have you ever made Rice Krispy treats again?  And do you remember that Dawn Meehan commented on that post?!)

So Kearsie, this one’s for you.  You make me smile, you make me laugh, and we will always have Orlando, and a thousand suns.

Love,
Vanessa

6 Comments leave one →
  1. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    November 12, 2009 3:46 pm

    Sniff sniff…touched…but don’t touch me too much b/c I just ate a McFlurry and that was a big mistake…I need my can of Febreze…sniff sniff…

  2. November 12, 2009 4:55 pm

    Wow that sweet! I had no idea you two knew each other like for reals in real life not just cyber life! McFlurry shakes cause gas? Interesting…

  3. November 12, 2009 4:56 pm

    oh man…I had not to gooder English in my comment up their.

  4. November 12, 2009 7:31 pm

    sap sap sap sap carrying a balloon. sap sap sap sap winn. that was one of the best posts ever.

    also. i was going to write about kearsie. because that was her suggestion on my blog. man. she’s just gonna be all over the internet. but not in a k-y jelly stethoscope kind of way.

  5. Vanessa's mom permalink
    November 12, 2009 8:45 pm

    How sweet.

  6. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    November 13, 2009 12:05 am

    Oh no uh uh Winn just did NOT bring her KY stethoscope all up into this post about me.

Leave a Reply

