Skip to content

Remembering

November 11, 2009

First, I would like to say that my blog stats indicate that the previous post has been viewed 31 times — that doesn’t include how many times people have just come to the blog and read.  I have 5 comments on it.  Whassup with that??  I am freely admitting my copycat nature, as well as the fact that I am a comment harlot.  You are free to enable me.  It is encouraged.

However, I did get some suggestions, and although I could do a separate post for this, I’m going to take Christy’s suggestion and use it in one post.  Because she suggested the anniversary of Sesame Street, and Veteran’s Day.  Today is The Street’s official anniversary, and tomorrow is Veteran’s Day, and midnight is approaching, so I figure this is excellent timing.

Best. Neighbors. Ever.I was watching Sesame Street when they were celebrating their 20th anniversary.  Before Elmo.  Before Bert and Ernie’s relationship was called into question (and way before they were having adventures while in a bed wearing cowboy hats with Bert saying something that sounds like “this is kind of kinky”).  And even before Big Bird’s BFF, Snuffy, could be seen by everyone.  Do you remember that?  When everyone thought Mr. Snuffalufagus was Big Bird’s imaginary friend?  I always felt so bad for Big Bird.

Oh, and Kermit was on Sesame Street!  Remember that?  Kermit was everybody’s straight man.  He was always hopping around to different projects, wasn’t he?  The Muppet Show, their movies, running from Miss Piggy.  I wonder how they’re doing…

But I watched, and I enjoyed.  I am pretty sure I learned aqua and casa from Sesame Street.  That got me far in life.  I do not think I ate more cookies than the average child due to Cookie Monster.  Nor do I think my own children will.  If they do, it’s because I give them too many or they get really good at sneaking them.

Sesame Street was good, clean fun.  And when my girls choose to watch it, it appears that it still is.  I am especially fond of their parodies of shows that we watch after the kids go to bed.  (Get your mind out of the gutter!)  Look at these titles… Law & Order: Special Letters Unit.  A’s Anatomy.  Preschool Musical.  RSI: Rhyme Scene Investigation.  Even Dr. Feel is pretty funny.  It’s good stuff.

Happy Anniversary, Sesame Street!

And now, since there is no way for me to smoothly transition…

Thank you.Veteran’s Day.

The resolution passed by Congress on June 4, 1926 that read:

Whereas the 11th of November 1918, marked the cessation of the most destructive, sanguinary, and far reaching war in human annals and the resumption by the people of the United States of peaceful relations with other nations, which we hope may never again be severed, and

Whereas it is fitting that the recurring anniversary of this date should be commemorated with thanksgiving and prayer and exercises designed to perpetuate peace through good will and mutual understanding between nations; and

Whereas the legislatures of twenty-seven of our States have already declared November 11 to be a legal holiday: Therefore be it Resolved by the Senate (the House of Representatives concurring), that the President of the United States is requested to issue a proclamation calling upon the officials to display the flag of the United States on all Government buildings on November 11 and inviting the people of the United States to observe the day in schools and churches, or other suitable places, with appropriate ceremonies of friendly relations with all other peoples.

The day is meant to be “A celebration to honor America’s veterans for their patriotism, love of country, and willingness to serve and sacrifice for the common good.”

“Thank you” doesn’t quite cover it, does it?  I can’t wrap my brain around what it takes to serve this country, or be the family of one who is currently serving.  But I thank you if you served, and if you are serving.  That’s all I can do.  That, and pray.

And then, be amazed that I found an image that combines these topics, kinda sorta…

Oscar. And flag.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 6:25 am

    LOVE it! I certainly wasn’t thinking combined… but it totally works! Wonder if the Street will have a special episode today?

  2. November 11, 2009 3:28 pm

    Nessa, this is an awesome post. Seriously for reals.

  3. robin permalink
    November 11, 2009 5:10 pm

    i loved snuffi! i was a huge fan of the whole thing. i am also a fan of veterans. god bless them for protecting all of us and every steet in america. even sesame street!

Leave a Reply

