Skip to content

Sweet November

November 3, 2009

I’ve never seen the movie, I just like the way that sounds.

I think November is my favorite month.  Even though my birthday and Valentine’s Day are both in February and I am a very greedy person who loves getting presents, I prefer the celebrations that take place in the eleventh month.

First, Thanksgiving.  I have always loved Thanksgiving, and it has always been my most favoritest holiday.  For as long as I can remember, my mom’s side of the family has gotten together for Thanksgiving.  My aunt controls the kitchen, my uncle controls the newspaper so he can read the comics aloud to us, football controls the television, and tryptophan controls nap time after the meal.  And I hope that I’m not jinxing the gathering by saying this, but Thanksgiving is typically drama-free.  I think it’s because even when many of us lived in the same area, we didn’t see each other on a very regular basis.  We weren’t around each other enough for the polite shine to wear off.  That, or I have an incredibly awesome family.  Or both.  And, my family is fun.  And funny.  And good to each other. 

Another thing I have enjoyed is how the in-laws have all just fit in so stinking well.  I’ll be honest, I was kind of worried about The Husband at first.  Until he and my cousin started picking at one another, and then I knew he’d be just fine. 

Yes, I’m ready for Thanksgiving NOW.

Also in November: Our Anniversary.  This year will be our seventh.  We’ve had a lot happen in seven years.   One dog, two kids, three moves, four surgeries, five if you count my wisdom teeth.  I love celebrating our anniversary.  And I’ll tell you, every year I ask that we watch our wedding video, and every year it gets put on the back burner and we don’t watch it.  Well, I think one year we started to, but we stopped mid-viewing because we were laughing too hard — The Husband had pulled a Raymond.  He had accidentally recorded a football game through a portion of our wedding video.  (For the record, I did NOT react like Debra — but mine was just a portion of the video, and we had another copy.  Also for the record, The Husband immediately popped the tab out of that video and the other copy we had, so that couldn’t happen again.)

Our Anniversary is something I want to celebrate every year, but I want to make a big ol’ stinking deal out of it once in a while.  This year, because we have a house now and I just like the number seven a lot.  (Plus, after this guest post was written, I had a really strong desire to go away for the weekend…)  In three more years, when I would love something sparkly.  Then after that, maybe we can slow down to making it a huge deal every five years.  But I like it to be acknowledged every year.  Just a little, “Hey, remember when we said ’til death do us part?  I’m still on board.”

So that’s why I like November.  I like it a lot, and I tend to forget that Christmas is just around the corner because I get so excited about Thanksgiving and Our Anniversary.  But I kind of feel sorry for November and Thanksgiving, and I feel like maybe I’m doing my part to keep the month and the holiday relevant.  After all, with Christmas trees up in stores in OCTOBER, it’s like Thanksgiving gets glossed over.  (Unless you live where there’s a Publix and they have that cute commercial with the little pilgrim salt and pepper shakers.  Or all the green bean casserole commercials.  Can I just tell you that I do NOT like green bean casserole?  I know that doesn’t matter, but I never got what the big deal was.  Am I the only person that doesn’t like green bean casserole?  Am I still talking inside the parentheses?)

So I am embracing the beginning of November with open arms, looking forward to all that it has in store!  I know Christmas is coming, but take some time this month to slow down and think about what you do have to be thankful for.  It could possibly make you more appreciative of what you have, and then you’ll end up being in better spirits for December!  Oooh, that could work!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 4:52 pm

    you’re my favorite. but man. you’re a sap.

    happy anniversary when it comes. this month. in november.

  2. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    November 3, 2009 5:08 pm

    Don’t forget my *cough*birthday*cough*.

  3. robin permalink
    November 3, 2009 8:05 pm

    vanessa! thanksgiving is my favorite holiday too! we have a huge family gathering and of course tons of food! and since christmas is just so awesome it feels like thanksgiving is the perfect kick off……

    • Kristina permalink
      November 3, 2009 9:40 pm

      I just love everything from Thanksgiving to New Year! But speaking of green bean casserole, I never liked it either until I tried a recipe that was sour cream based instead of cream of mushroom based. It was far better, and I am now a GBC convert!

Leave a Reply

