Skip to content

Miley Mania

October 28, 2009

For the most part, I have been spared from being taken over by Miley Mania.  My older daughter heard a couple of songs from Hannah Montana (the show? the movie?  I don’t know) when she was at dance camp this summer, but for the most part she is still blissfully unaware of the tween scene.  If we’re watching a Disney movie on television and commercials for Hannah Montana or The Jonas Brothers come on, she asks that I change the channel.  I’m okay with this. 

It’s not that I have anything against them — that would be ever so hypocritical considering my NKOTB-loving past — I’m just not interested in them.  The Jonas Brothers’ videos make me giggle probably the very same way my mom giggled when Joey Joe belted out Please Don’t Go Girl, clutching the air with expressions of angst and heartache.

For the record, I was completely and totally upset with my mom when she would smirk at that video.  She was ruining my who-o-ole wor-orld.

Somehow, though, some of my friends (who shall remain linkless) have started to randomly quote Miley lyrics.  They’ve got their hands up.  They’re noddin’ their heads.  Like yeah.

I hope they’re gonna be okay.

Anyway, the other day I was shopping at Walmart.  (Which, by the way, is more difficult than it used to be because I’m afraid of somehow showing up here.)  I had a list, and I was focused.  Then a skirt in the clothing section caught my eye because it looked perfect for the costume I was trying to put together.  PERFECT!  I picked out a couple in different sizes and quickly headed to the dressing room.  I tried them on and one did fit well, but it just didn’t look right.  Mostly because I looked in the mirror and thought of something I heard quoted from the TV show, Modern Family

People know you’re a girl.  You don’t need to prove it to them.

So I took the skirts back, and it was then that I noticed the sign above the clothing that had caught my eye.

NOOOOO!!!

I have been touched by Miley.  Well, and the Max guy too.  But unknowingly, I put on something made by Miley. 

Ever since then, my tummy’s been turning. 

But I feel alright.  I’m gonna be okay.

Unless I start movin’ my hips.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 10:41 pm

    oh man. you bought miley clothes? hahahahaahah! also. i have miley wet-look tights.

    why would you start movin’ your hips? i mean. unless a jay z song was on. a jay z song was on. a jay z song was ooOOOOoon.

  2. October 28, 2009 10:43 pm

    ohhhh. you took the skirts back. as in you returned them to their display. you did not purchase them. i see. well. i still have miley wet-look tights. you can borrow them if you want.

  3. October 28, 2009 10:51 pm

    winn is so generous with her tights…

    and

    *SOB*

  4. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    October 29, 2009 9:10 am

    Poor Ness. I guess she never got the memo. Yah *fist up and down*.

Leave a Reply

