Skip to content

I Don’t Like Candy Corns

October 8, 2009

Thank you to Moose A. Moose for that title.

I have never really been a fan of Halloween.  It’s not really because I’m all anti-Halloween because I think it’s the devil’s holiday or something, I just don’t like it.  I do NOT like being scared.  Ask The Husband.  He has made me shriek just by walking into a room without my noticing.  One time before we moved, he came into our walk-in closet a little too quietly while I was in there, and I nearly impaled him with a hanger.  (It was plastic, too, that’s how scared I was.)

Anyway.  I don’t do well with even commercials for scary movies on TV, or the ones for those freaky nights that are offered at theme parks.  I think I mentioned this before, but I dared to watch Scream in the theater when I was in college, and I’m sure my roommate didn’t appreciate me turning on the lights when I got home and leaving them that way after I got into my bed.  To this day I can’t look at that mask in the stores without cringing.

And actually, our church did Heaven’s Gates and Hell’s Flames a few times, and for some reason I always was cast in a role that got sent to Hell.  Always.  Anyway, they used those masks for the demons, and I promise you those were REAL SCREAMS as I was being dragged away.  I am pretty sure I left claw marks on the guys’ arms who were playing the demons.  It totally freaked me out.

Now, I actually think the dressing up part is kind of fun.  I do remember being Oscar The Grouch one year, I think I was 5 or 6.   So you know it was one of those plastic costumes that smelled really funny, and the mask with pinholes to see out of.   I think that was the first costume I ever had.  The last year I recall dressing up, I just wore a top and poodle skirt from a dance recital I’d been in and was a 50s girl.  Anything in between, I can’t remember.  Either my entire young life was spent feeling so-so about Halloween, or I just didn’t have any remarkable costumes.

Strangely enough, though, the older I got, the more I wanted an excuse to dress up. 

And now, there is one.

See, friends are having a game night the night before Halloween, and it’s going to be a Costume Night.  Costumes are MANDATORY.  So I’ve been looking for something that The Husband and I could do as a couple as far as costumes. 

I have a question regarding this — are there ANY non-sexy costumes for adult women??  I mean, if I want to dress up for The Husband when we’re alone, that’s one thing.  But, hello, I’m going to be among friends.  I’m not sure I want to be wearing a miniskirt with fishnet stockings and 4-inch heels.  Especially if I’m dressed as a nun.  They’ve even taken DOROTHY from The Wizard of Oz and made her PG-13!  That’s just wrong!  And I’m still wondering how they can put sexy in the description for an Olive Oyl costume…

*sigh*

… Right here I was going to put This is going to be harder than I thought, but I was afraid a fan of The Office would comment with “That’s what she said,” so I’m going to end it just like this.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 5:37 pm

    you could be a nurse. he could be a doctor. with a stethoscope. and reflex hammer. oh my…

  2. October 8, 2009 7:00 pm

    Oh I couldn’t agree more! I HATE to be scared! I hate to be chased, too. I went to Halloween Horror Night at Universal in high school, and I was miserable. I was almost in tears. I hated it! I love Halloween for the candy and costumes, though. Although, I like costume parties any time of year. Putting costumes together is a lot of fun, I think, and costumes don’t have to be scary or sexy. I think the best ones are neither!

  3. Adina permalink
    October 9, 2009 12:00 pm

    I agree with Meagan. This year, JR and I are dressing up with medical masks and a white lab coat as we take Reece around trick or treating….she dressing up as Piglet! We plan to hand out germ-x wipes and wear a sign on us of “Swine Flu” with an X through it;) May as well make it into a Family Fun night and just leave the scaring aspect for others to enjoy 😉

    Have fun with it!

Leave a Reply

