Skip to content

Football Widow (2nd Down)

September 5, 2009

I figured it out!

Okay, so I stand by my previous post.  I understand that many (not all, but many) women (including me) may not understand the fascination with the sport (whichever sport it is, really), but we can appreciate that it’s your thing.  And yes, we can use it to connect with you.  I still believe in that wholeheartedly.  Okay?  Okay.

However (yeah, that’s a fancy but), it’s not just the games.  If it were just the games, that might not be so bad.

But, fellow widows, it isn’t just the games, is it? 

No.  Because there are highlight reels to watch.  (How many of you sports widows have developed a twitch when the theme for SportsCenter comes on?)  Commentators to agree with or yell at.  Message boards to post on. 

And.  It isn’t just the day after the game, nooooo!  It’s all throughout the week!  The first half of the week, they’ve got to watch all about what happened in the game that’s done and over with, then the second half they’re conjecturing on the outcome of the upcoming weekend’s game!

Hmmmm…  Let me get real for a second though… I know I get into American Idol and The Bachelor/Bachelorette.  I have blogged about both of those in the past… I have vocalized my opinion to the screen during broadcasts of both.  I visited one other blog that would discuss American Idol, and I would sometimes comment on it. 

And if I remember this last season of American Idol accurately, judging from Facebook statuses, people were pretty passionate about that…

Hmph.  I was all excited about my revelation when I started this.

Of course, being fair to myself (sometimes I gotta do it), I did not spend a great deal of time watching E! or checking out people.com to find out the latest info on my shows.  I will admit to checking out an article if it was on my homepage, or if someone linked to it, but I didn’t really seek it out…

And really, the passion that a fan has for his/her team, from what I have seen, is quite different than the passion a fan has for American Idol (unless it’s the girl they show during this clip).  The conversations are way more intense between two guys discussing their teams’ stats than two people discussing Jillian’s dates with Kiptyn and Ed.

And I’ve never heard a story about an object being thrown or a piece of furniture being harmed during one of Simon’s critiques.  The same cannot be said when referencing an opposing team’s touchdown.

So.  I guess it ends up just depending on the particular level of fandom found in your home.

Now you’ll have to excuse me.  The Husband has stopped watching the college game to come in here to check the score of the baseball game…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2009 2:40 pm

    hahahahaha! i’m not the only one!

  2. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    September 8, 2009 10:42 am

    It’s a drug. That you take through your eyeballs.

Leave a Reply

