Skip to content

Undomesticated

August 26, 2009

I'm only smiling on the outside.Being in an actual house, I think I’m starting to feel like an actual housewife.  I’m doing laundry a lot more now.  Not that I didn’t do it regularly before, but… It’s more fun now.  It might be that I’m still in the honeymoon phase with the front loaders, but that’s okay.  I’m always picking up around the house, I’m putting the dishes away quicker, keeping the counters cleared off.  I’m making lunches at night, preparing the girls’ things for school before I go to bed.  I feel like Donna Reed.  (If you don’t know who Donna Reed is, then think of some more modern TV mom who cooked and cleaned while wearing a dress and heels.  And didn’t have an attitude.  Actually, finish reading this post first and then come back to that, because it’ll take you a while.)

I am even cooking more.

Oh, yes!  It is true!  I even got to burn something for the first time last night!  RICE!  Do you know just how wonderful burnt rice smells throughout your house?

It isn’t very wonderful at all, I have to say. 

And frankly… I’m sorry, my domesticated friends.  I apologize to you, those of you that enjoy spending time in your kitchens…

I’m not all that thrilled with this whole cooking thing.

First, there’s the raw meat.  Try as I might, I just… Okay, I’m gagging just writing about it.  Chicken, especially.  Raw chicken is the worst, and of course that’s what we like to eat most.  I’m not so bad with the lean ground beef.  Oh, but when I make a breakfast casserole and I’m browning the sausage…  *choke*

Enough of that.

Then there are the smells.  Is it in every house that the scent of whatever meal you’re making permeates through every room?  I thought I would be done with that when I got out of the apartment!  And my clothes!  My clothes smell like dinner!  I want to change my clothes after I’m done cooking!  But I don’t have that many clothes!  I thought the smells of dinner wafting through the air were supposed to be good!  And it’s not like I’m a bad cook and ruining the food, but they’re just always there

I bought a candle today to help with that.

The Husband is awesome when it comes to cleaning up after dinner, especially if I’ve prepared it.  So that part has improved.  I don’t mind cleaning up the plates after we’re done eating.  I have a hard time cleaning up the items that were used to prepare the meal.  I don’t know why.  Maybe there’s some kind of phobia or aversion to all things cooking-related…

Wow, Google is cool.

Mageirocophobia.  FEAR OF COOKING.

I sure as heck can’t pronounce it, but I may be on to something here…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    August 26, 2009 4:21 pm

    Our house smells like Old Crisco burning. It’s everywhere. I dread going home tonight.

  2. August 26, 2009 9:34 pm

    i have a high capacity hood with external exhaust. and my house still smells like burnt rice.

    but that’s because the candle i own is called “burnt rice”.

    gloves.

  3. Katye permalink
    August 26, 2009 9:59 pm

    you can always use the crockpot, and then your house will smell like dinner all day long!!

    you’ll like this… today my sister was using her crockpot (in the dark) and accidentally put coconut in with the pork and broccoli instead of rice.

    Bet that was an interesting smell!

  4. August 28, 2009 7:20 am

    Two words: Frozen Chicken.

    I have about a dozen awesome recipes with frozen chicken, and, seeing as I have been cooking constantly for oh, 13 years now, they might just be decent ones. Contact me. We’ll talk.

Leave a Reply

