Skip to content

Is it Safe to Look?

August 18, 2009

Last week, my older daughter started kindergarten.  When we were told the name of her teacher, naturally I was curious what others who had gone before thought of her.  Thankfully, all we heard were good things.  Wonderful things, really.  And a couple of people actually mentioned, as an aside, that the teacher is beautiful.

Yeah, beautiful.

Try smokin’ hot.  Maybe even hott.

So I’m thinking The Husband doesn’t need to come to the open house…

Actually, I’m just kidding about that.  He can come to the open house.   And he will.  And he will see the hot teacher.  And he will notice that she’s hot.

And that’s okay.  Because she is.

Seriously, it’s okay.  Call it faith, call it stupidity, I don’t care, but I’m okay with The Husband looking at attractive women.   They are everywhere, after all.  Most of my friends are cuties or hotties.  Shall I blindfold him each time we go to church?  Out to eat?  Walking to get the mail because one of our neighbors’ wardrobes seems to only consist of tank tops and shorts?  That would be silly.  And dangerous.

As long as he’s just LOOKING, it’s fine, because to the best of my knowledge, looking is something quite different than lusting.  Lusting, according to various dictionaries, is listed as an intense sexual desire or appetite; an uncontrolled or illicit sexual desire; a passionate or overmastering desire or craving.

So.  I do not think that The Husband is going to go to the open house and jump over the teacher’s desk or anything, so we’re good. 

Just as The Husband knows that when I watch Lost, I am not lusting after this guy:

Just looking...

Looking, yes.  Because he’s good looking.  At least, I think he is.  However, I do not want to go take a flight and hope that it crashes so I land on a disappearing island where that guy gives me a nickname and we can have dirty sex in a polar bear cage.  First of all, that’s a fictional story line.  Second of all, I personally am not interested in thinking about sex — clean, dirty, on a bed or in a cage — with anyone other than The Husband.  (Be that as it may, I know it’s not that easy for everyone, but that’s a different post for a different day.)

So I look.  The Husband looks.  You probably look.  God made some very attractive people, He does fine work.  I think it’s okay to appreciate that from time to time.  It becomes not okay if we dwell on the attractive people or their attractiveness and consider the possibilities of what can be done with them and their attractiveness.  Big difference.  Huge.

So if you can distinguish between looking and lusting, it’s probably safe to look.  Otherwise, I guess…

blindfold

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanessa's Mom permalink
    August 18, 2009 3:47 pm

    I would comment but I’m still looking at the guy’s picture.

  2. August 18, 2009 4:18 pm

    All I want to know is, am I a cutie or a hottie?
    (Don’t really answer that)

  3. August 18, 2009 6:11 pm

    Hahaha – I had SUCH a problem with this when I was younger. I never understood why my mom was pointing out cute girls in bikinis to my dad! Now I understand that LOOKING is ok 🙂

  4. August 18, 2009 7:14 pm

    i’m glad i don’t watch lost.

    also. i’m ok with being the friend with the “great personality”.

  5. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    August 19, 2009 8:41 am

    I talked about the Accidental Flirting Incident With The Water Cooler Guy today. It made me think of this post. Because I think I lusted for about 30 seconds until I opened my mouth and ruined the whole scene with my manic hysterical laughing about how I don’t know my own strength when pulling the water cooler lever.

    I am not a good luster, apparently. There’s my silver lining.

  6. August 19, 2009 10:14 am

    HAHAHHHA this post made me laugh a ton!

  7. robin permalink
    August 28, 2009 7:58 pm

    i just did that sawyers nickname generator on abc.com and it came out “sheriff”. i think i would actually pay money to hear him call me that in person……

Leave a Reply

