Skip to content

Tag! I’m it.

July 16, 2009
Kearsie tagged me.  She’s really good at this tagging stuff, especially considering she lives in a different state.

1. What is your current obsession?

*white girl two step*

*white girl two step*

That would be the house.  Well, a picture of the house anyway.  I don’t know that I’m obsessed, but I’m very, very excited!  And I keep thinking about it, and day dreaming about it, and imagining what it will be like to not have to get out of the car in the Florida heat or the Florida rain and walk up the stairs, sometimes holding a 27-pound child as well as the 27-pound child’s 7-pound bag…

 2. What is your weirdest obsession?

I’m going to go with Celtic Thunder.  Personally, I don’t think it’s all that weird, but I know others do — and I’m okay with that.  Because I don’t understand their obsessions with Harry Potter, The Office, or Twilight.  Or Twilight paraphernalia.  Especially… Well.  Just look here, and here.  Five real live Irish men singing don’t look so strange anymore, now do they?  Even if they’re wearing skirts kilts.

3. Recall a fond childhood memory.

When I was younger, my parents had a cabin in South Carolina that we would go to.  Someone had built on to a mobile home, it was so crazy!  I wasn’t all that fond of it when I was younger (what 10-year-old girl wants to be in a cabin for a week with no TV?!), but I appreciate how great it was now.   I also like thinking about the videos my dad took while we were there.  Fifteen minutes straight of Dad’s sneakers and the trail.   

4. What’s for dinner?

The girls will eat hot dogs and mac and cheese.  I will eat whatever snacks there are at home group.

5. What would you eat for your last meal?

The first thing that came to my mind was chicken and rice.  Seriously.  So I’m going to go with that. 

6. What’s the last thing you bought?

Well, this is kind of weird, because I also bought buns, like Kearsie.  But I bought buns because The Husband was making hamburgers for dinner and we only had two buns.  So I bought buns.  And Swiss Cake Rolls.

7. What are you listening to right now?

The music on Mario Kart.  And I am only listening, not watching, because I haven’t taken any Dramamine.

8. What do you think of the person who tagged you?

I think Kearsie is wonderful and creative and caring and generous and smart and I am so thankful for MySpace, because if it weren’t for MySpace, she and I would not have messaged and gotten each other’s IM screen names and started chatting late at night when our husbands were wishing we were in bed.  EDITED TO ADD:  Kearsie is also so funny that often her blogs make me laugh until I cry, or laugh so hard that one of my spleens hurt.

9. If you could have a house totally paid for, fully furnished, anywhere in the world, where would it be?

Uhm.  Uhmmm.  I’m still kind of fixated on the house that we are going to pay for in monthly increments for several years, that is not yet furnished.  Ask me again in 5-10 years.

10. If you could go anywhere in the world for the next hour, where would you go?

I don’t understand this.  I’m just going to be there for an hour?  Because if I could go anywhere, it would take me more than an hour to get there.  And why would I want to just be there for an hour?  If I could go anywhere, I’d want to stay a while.  This question is giving me a headache.

11. Which language do you want to learn?

Sign language.  I took a class in commnity college, but all I remember is how to say a bad word in it, and I learned that in Mr. Holland’s Opus.  I still know the alphabet, and I remember how to do some songs in sign language.  But I don’t think it would make much sense if I just went around singing and signing.

12. What’s your favourite quote (for now)?

It is, and has been for a while, “Never marry a man who lies.”  Wise words from Nanny Maureen in You’ve Got Mail.

13. What is your favourite colour?

Ooooh, I just noticed how that’s written!  Do I get to be British today?  Can I answer this with an accent?  My favourite colour is red.

14. What is your favourite piece of clothing in your own wardrobe?

My skinny jeans — because they are now my regular jeans.

15. What is your dream job?

Whatever job takes the least amount of time and brings in the most amount of money.  That, or a writer — which is exactly the opposite.

16. What’s your favourite magazine?

The outdated ones at the doctor’s office.  Especially the style ones that I read and think, “Oh my gosh!  I’m wearing that!  I am so in!”  And then I realize it’s from 1998.

17. If you had $100 now, what would you spend it on?

Stuff for the house.  I don’t know what, but I’m pretty sure I could find $100 worth of stuff for it.

18. Describe your personal style.

Mommy chic.  I don’t know if it’s a style, but it should be.  Sit outside of a preschool or elementary school sometime… Well, don’t, because then you’d look creepy and they’d call the police.  So drive by a preschool or elementary school, and watch — you will see a lot of t-shirts and khakis.  At least around these parts you will.

19. What are you going to do after this?

Fix the girls their dinner and go to home group, at which point I will eat my dinner.

20. What are your favourite films?

The kind that make me laugh, or make me cry, or both.  Actually, two come to mind, so I’ll go with Taken and The Prestige.  (And not just because Christian Bale and Hugh Jackman were both in it — it was really good!)

21. What’s your favorite fruit?

Tangerines.  And strawberries.  (Did you know I’m still answering these with a British accent?)

22.What inspires you?

You.  You’re the meaning in my life.  You’re the inspiration.  You bring feeling to my life.  You’re the inspiration.  (That wasn’t in a British accent.  I sang that all raspy and with all the emotion that Chicago gave to it.  I know you’re moved.)

23. Your favourite books?

Chick-lit.  Jennifer WeinerSophie Kinsella.  I like easy, but highly entertaining, reading.

24. Do you collect anything?

I have a very small collection of Willow Tree figures.  And I started getting several things with snowmen on them at Christmas — which I think is kind of weird since a) I’m in Florida and b) I’ve never seen snow.   I like the Willow Tree figures better.

25. Any advice from bitter experience?

See #12.  And a few of my previous posts. 

26. What makes you follow a blog?

It helps if I know you.  Or if the blog makes me laugh.  Or cry.  Mostly laugh, though.

I hereby tag…

Katrina
Carrie
Kim
Winn (and she won’t do it, but still, I hereby tag her nonetheless)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2009 10:32 pm

    i will do it. psh.

  2. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    July 16, 2009 10:36 pm

    #8 you did not say I was funny and so I hang up my career as a humor writer.

Leave a Reply

