Skip to content

The Letter I Should Send

July 1, 2009

I wrote about the things we would like to say, but know we shouldn’t, so we don’t.  (Here.)  It made me think about all the things we ought to say, but for some reason keep to ourselves. 

And then Farrah Fawcett, Michael Jackson and the OxiClean guy died, and they were each just starting their 50s.  I know Farrah Fawcett was battling cancer, but from what I know (which is limited because I haven’t been keeping up), it seemed like the other two deaths were surprises.  So after all the hype has passed, when Neverland becomes the next Graceland and we are able to watch an informercial without waiting to hear, “Billy Mays here,” there will still be families that were left without their loved ones unexpectedly, and I wonder if there was anything left unsaid. 

I’ve always thought that there aren’t enough ways to say the three most important phrases we have:  Thank you, I’m sorry, and I love you.  Those words need to be spoken and they need to be heard.  A lot of things we should say go unsaid because of pride.  I hate pride, but I’m full of it.  I don’t like it when I know that someone is able to hurt me.  Even writing it makes me cringe.  And I just sat here for a couple of minutes thinking about if I want to leave that in the post — that I’m able to be hurt.  (Estrogen, I curse thee.)

So what are some other things we should probably say more often? 

You were right, I was wrong.

I am thankful for you.

I appreciate you.

You mean so much to me.

Yes, thank you, I could use some help.

I don’t know how we got to the place we’re at now, but I do know that I don’t want to be here. 

What can I do to make things right?

It’s even hard to read, knowing the vulnerability that would have to go along with saying them… But that probably means they’re needed even more.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    July 1, 2009 3:03 pm

    Dude. Last night I was up late watching Ghostbusters 2 and I saw Billy Mays on an informercial. It was really sad. It’s nice that OxyClean is what reminds me of my temporary life.

    For the record, I am thankful for you, I appreciate you and you mean so much to me.

    Suns.

  2. Sonya permalink
    July 1, 2009 4:04 pm

    “I don’t know how we got to the place we’re at now, but I do know that I don’t want to be here. ”

    Totally, totally related to this one, Vanessa. And sadly, in my instance, instead of “here”, I think I need to be “there”, in a completely opposite direction. Sometimes, one can only do so much…and coming to peace with that is tough stuff. At that point, you’ve said what needed to be said…then walking away and leaving it be, that’s where I get myself into trouble (I keep going back and picking it up *argh*).

Leave a Reply

