Skip to content

Four score and seven years ago…

June 22, 2009

But really, take out the “four score” part, because it was only seven years ago.

kimanderson-onthegrassI said once before that 2002 was a busy year.  And it all started on this day seven years ago, at an indoor rock climbing gym.   To this day, I remember seeing him for the first time and I remember realizing that I was blatantly staring at him.  I remember talking to him for the first time, and wondering if it was a problem that I was two years older than him.  I remember getting to hold his watch while he scaled a wall.  I don’t know why I remember that last part, but I do.  (And that’s not us in the picture, it’s a Kim Anderson photo.  I’ve always liked them.  At least, I did until I found out that Kim Anderson is a guy.  Then it kind of creeped me out that a dude was taking pictures of little kids acting romantic with each other.  But perhaps that’s a post for another day.)

I remember how I liked that he was kind of a smart aleck, kind of sarcastic.  No pushovers for me, please, I liked a little bit of a challenge.  Although, seven years later, I find myself reminding him that sarcasm is “anger’s ugly cousin” and asking for a little more sensitivity.  Oops.

But anyway, life lessons I’m learning aside, he is one amazing man, and I love him.  Sure, there are days when I wonder if we will ever get past certain issues (usually that whole failure to communicate effectively thing), but most of the time I look at him and can’t believe I get to keep him.  He is everything I always wanted in a husband, and many things I didn’t know I wanted… And some things I probably didn’t want at all, but ended up needing.  God’s smart like that.

And to think I almost didn’t go that night!  I can’t even imagine!  I don’t WANT to imagine!  I just want to imagine the next seven years, and the seven after that, and four score and seven years from now…  You get the idea.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2009 3:13 pm

    “sap sap sap sap. smart aleck. sap sap sap sap sap.” that would have been fine by me.

  2. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    June 22, 2009 3:29 pm

    This post makes me think many things:

    1. I memorized the Gettysburg address in the 8th grade. Me and the nerdiest guy in our grade. We were the only two to complete that project.

    2. Kim Anderson being a guy is a wee bit on the freakish side. I wish I did not know this.

    3. You held Chris’ watch, but did you SMELL it?

    4. What if I hadn’t moved all the way to Florida? Hmm, what a weird thought.

    5. I’m pretty sure Chris thinks I’m a Bobble Head b/c when he chatted me up about sports all I could do is nod.

    6. I’m thinking of lots of suns typing this.

Leave a Reply

