Skip to content

Solo

March 31, 2009

The Husband has Guy Time.  Whether it be softball, Ultimate Frisbee, or gathering with other adult males to hold controllers and save the earth from alien domination, he’s always had something to do with The Guys.

I have Girl Time.  I get together with my friends and have a blast doing… Well, whatever it is that we do, I’m pretty much guaranteed to have an amazing time.  That happens when you have amazing friends.

Sometimes, though, I need ME TIME.  These days, I get that when The Husband has late softball games.  Our girls go to bed, and I am left in a quiet apartment.  So many choices!  Do I paint my toenails?  Watch some horrible TV show that The Husband cannot stomach?  Read?

It reminds me, though, that there was a time when I got to make choices like that every night.  Back in the day, when I had my own apartment.  600 square feet of MY OWN PERSONAL SPACE.  You could stand at the front door, rotate yourself from left to right, and you would have seen the entire place — including the bathroom with a little twist of the neck.  Small though it was, it was mine, ALL MINE!  I lived in the very back of the complex, nothing behind me except a manmade lake and part of the golf course.

Sure, I took advantage of that time to myself.  Some nights I would come home from work and throw on my jammies, heat up some chicken pot pie and relish having total authority over what channel was on.  I enjoyed being able to go out whenever I wanted, invite people over whenever I wanted, and I also enjoyed not answering the phone or the door if I didn’t want to.

But I think a lot of the time I was wishin’ (and hopin’ and dreamin’ and prayin’) about finding Mr. Right, settling down and making some babies.

According to Google, it was George Bernard Shaw that said, “Youth is wasted on the young.”  Yeah, I get that.  And sometimes, being single is wasted on the unattached.  It seems that a lot of times, no matter where we are, there’s somewhere else we’d rather be. 

Why are we like that?!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Robin permalink
    April 3, 2009 2:29 pm

    i had my own apt. in college as well and i loooved it. i could be alone when i wanted and have people over when i wanted too. now that i am married with three kids i am realizing that getting that much needed alone time takes more effort on my part. i have to get up eeeeearly to get it, ooooor stay up very late. both take a toll on me the next day, but that is what coffee is for right? this is sometimes a pain, but i find that when i get enough time for myself i am a much better mom and wife.

  2. Mindy permalink
    April 5, 2009 9:32 pm

    I have come to realize that no matter what stage in life you are in, the grass always seems greener on the other side. I think alone time AND having that significant other/family is equally important. I GUARANTEE that the ache of loneliness is JUST as real for the single gal as the ache for alone time is for the married one. BUT that being said, I agree with you that we shouldn’t waste the precious time we in either state pining away for something else. I mean, I am sure Jager bowling wouldn’t be NEARLY as fun if I had to come home to “the fam.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

