Skip to content

WWWD?

March 25, 2009

Nope, not a typo.  And no, not sacrilege either.

What Would Winn Do? 

I am a sensitive person, and I am reactionary.  If I’m not reacting externally, you can be pretty certain that I’m reacting internally.  It’s not always a negative thing though, sometimes I’m doing a little happy dance — and I have to do that on the inside, because no matter what anyone says, randomly standing up and shaking your booty isn’t always the answer to everything!

Anyway, I got my sensitive panties all in a bunch today for various reasons.  First, I found myself once again in the minority on schooling choices, wondering if people realized that their condemnation of public schools might offend those who are choosing that route.  Or, perhaps, insult those who have chosen teaching as a profession, and are doing so in a public school.  Then, I chose to feel looked down upon because I let my daughters watch movies where a fictional young girl gets swept off her feet by a fictional prince.   And, to top it all off, it seems that any time I’ve mentioned as a prayer request or in conversation that I’m having laparoscopic surgery, inevitably someone has to tell me about their daughter/sister/neighbor/cousin/friend’s-aunt’s-sister-in-law that went in for the same routine test and ended up having a hysterectomy.

WHAT THE CRAP?!

So, I was reacting to all of this, and Winn told me things I really already knew, but probably still needed to hear.  We all make our decisions for what’s best for our families, and I just need to be confident of mine and in the face of opposition…

Shrug.

::shrug::

I think I’m going to try that.  I wonder what a non-reactionary Vanessa would be like…

“They’re only teaching the test in public schools and kids aren’t getting a well-rounded education.”

::shrug::

“Movies like that promote an unhealthy idea of male-female relationships that will warp our daughters.”

::shrug::

“My cousin’s neighbor’s daughter-in-law went in because they were, like, so sure she just had endometriosis, but when they did the test, they were, like, so concerned that they just took everything out.”

::shrug::

Someone once said, “Opinions are like armpits.  Everyone’s got ’em, and most of the time, they stink.”  Word.

And really, so as to not upset the most pious of readers, I do know that the only opinion that matters is God’s.  I really do know that. 

But still.  Instead of seething or feeling hurt, insulted or offended…

::shrug::

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2009 11:31 pm

    and when all else fails, just,

    psh.

    whatev.

    peace out.

    seriously.

  2. Katye permalink
    March 25, 2009 11:48 pm

    Good girl!!

  3. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    March 26, 2009 8:27 am

    My personal favorite way of viewing opinions:

    Opinions are like elbows, everyone’s got ’em, and only sometimes they’re right.

    You go on witcha bad self, girl.

    I live in the land of “I wouldn’t do that if I were you”.

    I need to shrug more often, too. Plus, I think it burns calories.

  4. Carrie permalink
    March 26, 2009 12:07 pm

    First of all, let me say….AMEN SISTA!

    We all have certain convictions and opinions on certain things for a reason. Some of us prefer public school, some of us think cartoons are just cartoons, and some of us don’t. And it is OKAY…for all of us.

    P.S. I’m controlling my compulsion to “preach” about public school 🙂 because we all have opinions and mine is mine.

  5. March 26, 2009 12:55 pm

    shrug it girl. don’t it feel like a mini cabbage patch?

    i love a “stand up quick booty shake sit down act like nothing happened” routine. i might even do one tomorrow night. might. (i don’t want to scare away any potential ps friends.)

Leave a Reply

