Skip to content

Why 13?

March 11, 2009

I haven’t been keeping up with American Idol as well this year.  I don’t know why, maybe The Bachelor drained all of the reality love from me.  Maybe I can only focus on one reality show at a time.

I don’t like the Number 13.  Why are there 13?  Because the judges wanted to keep one extra person in, is that right?

I knew I wouldn’t be watching all of the show last night, so The Husband went ahead and DVR’d it for me.  (Or is it DVRed?  Or is it just recorded, really?)  I’m going to watch it RIGHT NOW.  Seriously.  I’m going to watch ‘n blog. 

Michael Jackon, huh?   Don’t care who did it first, this is what I will be comparing them to.

Mother of three, Lil Rounds.  She tells us being a mom is a big responsibility.  *gasp*  Oh, sad.  Tornado.  Don’t let go of your dreams, she says.  The way Lil Rounds is making me feel in that outfit is that I’m back in the 80s when Michael Jackson was still a black man.  Randy thinks she made the song new again.  Kara thinks everyone needs to step it up after hearing Lil sing.  So far, the judges are all about Lil Rounds.  Now… Simon.  He thinks it was a lazy song choice (I can see that), and he hates what she’s wearing.

Since I have the joy of the DVR, I will fast forward through all the awkward conversation that takes place.

Scott MacIntyre, the visually impaired young man from Arizona.  His whole family sings.  His sister is also visually impaired.  I don’t know this song.  I think he has a really nice voice, very smooth.  Am I allowed to say that he needs a haircut?  Geez, Kara, chill, he needs to hear the applause.  Paula thinks it was magical.  Simon hated the song.  That’s two hates in a row from him.  Randy thought it was safe.

Did you know you can download these performances on iTunes?

Danny Gokey now.  Liked him when I saw him before.  A friend just IM’d me — Gokey looks like Robert Downey, Jr.  YES!  He does!  His family sings while they learn.  Or learn while they sing?  His glasses matchy-matchy his shirt.  Oh, look at him getting the judges in on the action.  Now the audience.  Good showmanship.  Strange dancing.  Paula thinks if we had our eyes closed, we’d know it was Danny Gokey singing, and she’s about. to. cry.  Simon shushed Paula, was impressed with his vocals — but didn’t like the dancing.  Randy loved it all, dawg.  Kara says he has joy, he’s all about the music.

Michael Sarver, not looking like a roughneck according to his boss man.  “You Are Not Alone” — and the teeny boppers up front are not swaying!  Yay!  Well, wait.  They’re clapping a little.  But not swaying.  I’m a little unsure about this performance.  Choppy?  Simon doesn’t think he’s the best singer in the competition, but thinks he makes up for it with passion and giving it 110%.  Uncharacteristically kind of Simon.  Randy thinks it was really good, Kara thinks this showed he can really sing.  He brings his game.  How are those feathers not tickling Paula’s neck?

Jasmine Murray, 17.   The baby of her close family.   She’s a cutie in some big ol’ high heels.  Wowsa.  Big earrings.  Big ring.  Little dress.  Big voice!  That’s weird, she’s standing on her own face.  That was a simple song, but with those they’re probably able to do more with them.  Check it out, yo, Randy mentioned recording that song with Mariah Carey.  Kara thinks she sold it.  Paula wasn’t sure about the notes going into the chorus.  Simon said it was a good attempt, but it was a little robotic at times.

Did you know you can download these performances on iTunes?

Kris Allan.  Aww, he’s only been married five months!  Tell me, do you remem-bah?  He’s trying to get the audience into it — trying to get the hands in the air.  Hard to do while playing guitar.  Kara thinks the girls love Kris.  She thinks that he should play and sing, likes that he helped the other contestants.  And Simon is trying to undress Paula.  Paula called Kris adorable-sexy.  Good to see her babbling again.  Comforting, really.  DANG!  Kris’ wife just shot daggers at Simon!  Well, he has a point.  The teeny bopper girls might not want to vote for a taken man.  They want a guy they can swoon over and imagine themselves married to.  Am I right?

Allison Iraheta, who is 16, with magenta hair.  And shaky home videos.  Wow, she’s very rocker.  And she looks older than 16.  I can’t tell what she’s saying, but that might be because I don’t know the song.  Wait, she said “yeah.”  Paula is amazed at her age — her mind is boggling.  Simon thinks she’s very good.  Randy thinks she just got it.  Kara wants her to keep being a rocker girl.

Next, Anoop Desai.  Oh, he’s the extra.  What’s with his jacket though?  Anoop was spoiled.  Cultured.  He’s going to sing “Beat It” — a song that… well… Maybe only Michael Jackson should do it.  Unless you’re doing karaoke.  Then it’s okay.  But does it afford the opportunity to showcase vocals in a singing competition?  Paula doesn’t have her script yet!  She thinks he is sharing a gift, but the song is untouchable.  And she said karaoke!  Simon thought it was horrible, ouch!  A bad impersonation, double ouch!  Anoop Dawg made the wrong choice according to Randy.  Kara thinks it didn’t, well… showcase his vocals.  I feel smart, because the judges are saying what I thought.  I’m all impressed with myself.

Jorge Nunez.  He has a loud family.  He thinks his being on American Idol may have brought the family back together.  Why are they using subtitles when his brother is speaking English?  He’s got a Miami Vice jacket thing going on while singing a Jackson 5 song that I am unfamiliar with.  That was like a lounge act or something.  He’s got a big ol’ smile.  Randy and Kara are giving a sort of “eh” review.   Paula’s asking questions.  Simon’s not impressed.

Megan Joy Corkrey is saying hi, with a very big tattoo.  Wow.  Happy Birthday, brother.  Her mom looks like she could be her sister.  She’s divorced.  Megan misses her son.  More Jackson 5, “Rockin’ Robin”… Really.  Does this fit?  Is she singing too low?  Is she singing “Rockin’ Robin”?!  She looks kind of uncomfortable.  Did she do a bird call?  A bird call?  Kara wants to see more range.  Paula thinks she has a unique tone, wants America to know she can sing.  Simon said it was a STUPID song choice.  Stew-pid.  And you know what, this is the first time I remember seeing her, and it did confuse me.  They asked a question of the guy from Hell’s Kitchen, because he’ll know what he’s talking about.

Adam Lambert, who has been trying to break into Hollywood.  He’s struggling.  Black hair.  Black necklace.  Black nail polish.  Singing “Black and White.”  I remember this video.  Is he going to morph into something?  That’d be pretty cool.  His voice isn’t really… Going with his look.  Until he screamsings.  Can that be my new word?  Screamsing.  It’s mine.  I always thought MJ was singing, “It’s black.  It’s white.  It’s Ovaltine.”  But maybe not.  Paula is transfixed on him.  He’s got the whole package.  I think her meds are kicking in.  Or running out.  Simon puts him in a totally different league.  Randy adds how current he’s always been, thinks he could go straight to the top.  And Kara is a fan.  Paula is again mind-boggled. 

Matt Giraud.  These people are all so family-oriented.  Nobody’s a loner here.  Lots of crying folks.  Matt plays the piano.  Not bad.  Lots o’ falsetto.  Randy and Kara keep it simple — like him.  Paula: talented, sexy, amazing.  Simon thought it was good.  They must be running very short on time.

Alexis Grace after the break.  She sings the blues, her dad has always been into music.  Leaving us with “Dirty Diana”.  In her little teeny tiny dress (or are those shorts?) and her little teeny tiny frame, she’s pretty dang good.  Little jerky with her movements, seemed to lose a little teeny tiny bit there after a bit.  Simon thought a little over-the-top.  Wow, what a challenge with the different phone number.  If she doesn’t make it, it’ll be because of the phone number.

So who’s going home tonight?  Maybe Jorge can say goodbye and Anoop will beat it.

By the way, did you know you can download these performances on iTunes?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    March 11, 2009 10:50 pm

    Hey…I heard you can download the performances on iTunes. Not sure if it is true or not.

    🙂

  2. March 12, 2009 12:02 am

    can you download the tunes?

    i don’t have an ipod. so. i guess it doesn’t matter.

    goooo gokey.

  3. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    March 12, 2009 11:51 am

    Ahhhhh <—- that’s my sigh of relief.

    AI just isn’t the same without Vanessa Commentary.

    I’m a fan of Danny Gokey, Lil Rounds and I was pleasantly surprised by Matt Giraud. I hated Rockin Robin, but I want to see Megan sing something else. I don’t dig the magenta hair girl, but I missed seeing her, maybe that’s why. I like the chick at the end, Alexis, I want to see some rock. I had to close my eyes when Anoop sang, first of all, was he wearing a jacket with too many zippers ala Michael Jackson? Mistake #1. Plus, all about the Indianness, but not with Michael Jackson. As a side note, Indian music played at weddings and such is awesome.

  4. March 12, 2009 1:06 pm

    Well you called the bottom two. Good job!

Leave a Reply

