Skip to content

And now for a very special epsiode…

March 9, 2009

…of Dancing With The Stars.

I like watching DWTS, but this year I wasn’t very interested in the contestants.  That is, of course, until I heard that Jilted Melissa From The Bachelor (that’s her full name now) was going to be taking the place of one of the recently injured contestants.  I knew I’d be tuning in again.

In the past, I have watched this show with the girls.  I credit Ian Ziering for teaching my oldest girl how to shimmy. 

Tonight, though, I was kind of glad that Big Sister was with The Husband at his softball games, and Li’l Bit is still little enough that she doesn’t understand what she’s seeing.   

Am I mistaken, or didn’t Bruno catch heat for saying that one contestant’s dancing was “crap” one season?  Because this is a family show?

Obviously, times have changed.

In just a matter of a couple of seasons, we’ve gone from fussing over the word “crap” to giving shout outs to buds in the federal detention center.  Overusing the “jackass” joke for the celebrity who is using dancing as part of his rehabilitation, and having to blur out his tattoos.  Having a Playboy cover model dancing. 

Interestingly enough, the Girl Next Door was showing a LOT less skin than the professional female dancers.  I’ve concluded that they do that in order to distract from what their partners lack in actual skill.

Do you remember back in the day, when television shows would have  a disclaimer before sensitive episodes?  Like on The Facts of Life, when Natalie was going to have sex with her boyfriend, Snake, there was a parental advisory first — and the characters just talked about the fact that she’d had sex!  You never even saw her boyfriend!  Even Doogie Howser, M.D. gave us some fair warning because Doogie and Wanda might have been doing it. 

These days, shows like Gossip Girl on CW promote themselves with ads that declare how trashy they are.   Online ads shouted “Every Parent’s Nightmare” and “Mind-Blowingly Inappropriate”.

Now a self-proclaimed family show has me holding my breath because I’m just waiting for Edyta or Karina to just twist right out of whatever barely-there outfit they’re wearing, or for Cheryl’s to just drop the half centimeter needed to showcase her backside.

I’m a big girl and I can handle what’s on TV, but it still surprises me.  And it makes me wonder what the heck will be considered family viewing when both the girls are watching with us during primetime!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Leslie Stanton permalink
    March 10, 2009 7:27 am

    You are so right….pretty scary!

  2. March 10, 2009 9:44 am

    This is precisely why the TV is not on in our house, and my kids only watch PBS. As far as I am concerned, there is nothing “family oriented” about TV anyway!

    TV is reserved for us at night when they are in bed, and we watch everything on the internet a day later, which is nice as there aren’t three minutes of offensive commercials to watch in between!

Leave a Reply

