Skip to content

Today is fired.

February 26, 2009

I think this entire week may be fired, I don’t know. 

It’s a shame I can’t wallow.  Okay, I can wallow a little bit, but truthfully I know what to do to get myself out of this funk. 

1.  Pray.  Take a deep breath and pray.  Talk to God, and tell Him exactly how I feel.  That I don’t understand why Li’l Bit can’t go anywhere without fussing and hollering and twisting and running.  That I’m seriously disappointed that I have to miss a social activity that I helped plan because I have to go to “work.”  (Actually, that shouldn’t be in quotes.  Childcare at church IS work.  If you disagree with me, you do it.)  That I’m bummed that I’m pretty much not going to see The Husband on his day off because of my needing an ultrasound and bloodwork, then him going to see the mortgage broker (without me, because of Li’l Bit’s fussing and hollering and twisting and running) and helping friends move, and then me going off to the aforementioned WORK.

God will probably remind me that it’s just one day.  I will argue that I’m not guaranteed another day.  He will agree and ask me why I’m worried about tomorrow in the first place then.  I will say, “Touche.”   Only I will pronounce it “tushy” and that will make me laugh. 

2.  Read.  My favorite book right now is the one we’re using in a ladies’ Bible study.  Pathway to Purpose for Women by Katie Brazelton, Women’s Bible Study Director at Saddleback Church.  We’re only in Chapter 3, and already I’m a fan.  The back cover says, “Discover God’s bold agenda for your life.”  And anyone can pick up this book, right?  So think about that: God has a “bold agenda” for my life.  For your life.  I think it would be exciting if younger-than-me women picked up this book and set out to find their purpose sooner rather than later. 

3.  Have sex.  I can’t do that right now, as The Husband isn’t home, but I think married people poo-poo the benefits of their right to intercourse.  Just look at the health benefits listed in this article on WebMD by Kathleen Doheny.  According to her, sex:

  • Relieves stress. 
  • Boosts immunity.
  • Burns calories.  (I heard all about that from this woman when she was on Oprah.)
  • Improves cardiovascular health.
  • Boosts self-esteem.
  • Improves intimacy.
  • Reduces pain.
  • Reduces prostate cancer risk.  (Okay, that one isn’t for me.)
  • Strengthens pelvic floor muscles.   (That helps you to not to rely on these one day.)
  • Helps you sleep better.

So, no more excuses.  I know what to do.

… Hey, The Husband is home early from work..

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2009 7:29 pm

    Wow…

    Today might be fired, but it sounds like tonight will be ON FYAH!!!

    IT’S BUSINESS TIME!

    GET YOUR BLACK SOCKS ON AND GET BIZZZZZZZZAY!

    🙂

  2. Sonya permalink
    February 26, 2009 7:32 pm

    *ha ha* love the first comment 😉

    I hope things get better! Sorry the little one is having her special moments. Sophie is going through her fits which makes me not venture out much, but, it’s her teeth. Sending lots and lots of good thoughts your way! And, if I can do anything, you know where I am 🙂

  3. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    February 27, 2009 9:21 am

    ahahahaha
    tushy.

Leave a Reply

