Skip to content

American Idol – I’m Confused…

February 17, 2009

I don’t normally start watching until this part, but they’ve changed it.

First, they confused me with the new judge, and now they changed the way the show is going.  This is what I get for not paying as much attention to EW’s website, right? 

And what’s with the loved ones in “The Red Room,” I ask you?  No, no, a thousand times, no!  They are best seen smiling and waving from the audience, giving a thumbs up or proudly wiping away tears.  Not next to Ryan Seacrest giving their opinion of the judges’ opinions.  NO BRAINER!  If it was good, they liked it.  If the judges beat up their kid (or spouse), they disagree.  Duh.

Of course, I’d love for someone to look at Ryan and say, “I agree with Simon.  That was a totally karaoke performance!”  That would’ve been the correct line for Jackie Thon, Brent Keith, Michael Sarver, Stephen Fowler and Tatiana Del Toro.  Poor little Stevie Wright, “not hot” was all Randy could come up with, and Simon said it was terrible.  I felt so bad for her, but… They were right.  And Casey Carlson… Well, I think she’s watched High School Musical one too many times. 

My picks from this week:

alexisgrace

Alexis Grace. 
Why?  Because she was really good.  And she’s adorable.  And she was really good.

 

 

 

dannygokey

Danny Gokey. 
He really did save the show.  There were five contestants before him that barely got anything remotely close to praise from the judges.  Danny Gokey gave us a reason to tune in next week!  I also remembered his story, and I was kind of rooting for him.

 

 

anoopdesaiAnoop Desai. 
If Paula says that America has connected with Anoop, who am I to argue?  Also, “Anoop Dawg” must continue on.  I don’t think the joke is quite dead yet.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    February 18, 2009 9:18 am

    Dude, I totally agree on your picks. Although, I hope Anoop picks different songs. I don’t think he’ll last if he does hip-hoppy songs.

    Also, can’t stand the new judge. She’s on my last nerve.

  2. February 18, 2009 12:12 pm

    We got an antennae just so we could watch AI, and it was just, blah! Plus dealing with commercials is a grace I don’t have. Sigh…I’ll stick with Survivor.

  3. February 23, 2009 12:29 am

    the producers of American Idol are obviously singling out Danny Gokey as their favorite, but i would like to see him win so i don’t mind

Leave a Reply

