Skip to content

I’m Scrappy!

January 20, 2009

honestscrapI like being awarded things, it makes me feel ever so special!  And I actually like these conditional awards because they give me something to write about!  Although this one could be tricky, because how much more honest could I possibly be?  (Oooooh, so scary!)

I got this award from Kearsie (Sounds Like Tomatoes) as well as Kim (A Parent’s Life To Behold Through the Eyes of Insanity and Bliss), and here are the things for me to do in order to post this presitigious award on my blog:

A) First list 10 honest things about yourself – and make it interesting, even if you have to dig deep!

B) Pass the award on to 7 bloggers that you feel embody the spirit of the Honest Scrap.

(Before I begin, though… Am I supposed to be reading that as honest crap?)

So, some honest crap about myself…

  1. I honestly feel that conservatives showed more class at the end of Election Day than a lot of liberals I read are showing on Bush’s last day.  I respect that this nation wanted President Obama, and that is what they got.  But I have news for you all — his poop?  It really does stink.  He’s going to make mistakes, whether or not you hear about them in mainstream media.  Just sayin’.  And, honestly?  Do these people think they would’ve done a better job?  Psh.  Then start campaigning.  Until then, show a little more respect.
  2. There’s a small place inside me that gets jealous when people get what I want, especially when I feel like I earned it or something… But then I think, people must feel the same when they look at The Husband.  They all want him.  But, like the people who look at The Husband, I realize that if I don’t have it, it wasn’t meant to be, and I am able to be happy that they’re happy. 
  3. It took me around 30 years to get to the point of really rejoicing when others recjoice.  (Romans 12:15.)
  4. When I look in the mirror, a lot of times I still see this.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m pretty sure I don’t actually look like that now, but sometimes I think it’s a good thing to remember that “cute” wasn’t in the list of descriptive words used to describe me for quite a while.  (And please, don’t look at that picture and tell me that I was cute.  Go back in time to when you were in elementary school and be honest with yourself.  Unless you and I would’ve been friends because we both had crazy hair, big glasses and an awkward wardrobe, it’s highly likely you would’ve picked on me at least a little.)
  5. My main struggle in life: personality conflicts.  This is something I have really, really, really been working on.  I tend to obsess.  But I’m building bridges and getting over them, because I have way too many fabulous friendships to keep my mind occupied with relationships that could be unhealthy.
  6. I want to go back to college.
  7. I would love to be published.  Love, love, love.  I would love to write for a living.  Love.
  8. If I couldn’t be published for creative writing or an article or something, I think being an advice columnist would be fun.  And hilarious.  But mostly fun.
  9. I am really, really proud of myself for having my girls without using an epidural.  KEEP READING.  It is not because I’m a big proponent of natural childbirth.  It is because I DID IT.  Little ol’ me.  (I wasn’t so little when I did it, but whatev.)  I spent too much time with people that tried to belittle me and break me.  It was really empowering to do something like that, and it royally ticks me off when people look at me like I have two heads when it is mentioned.  I am not saying I’m stronger than women who used an epidural, but I AM saying I’m stronger than I thought I was. 
  10. When I talk about protecting my marriage and guarding it with all the intensity and fierceness possible, it is because I know I am human.  I am not beyond falling.  I am not just protecting The Husband from the world, I have to protect myself from it as well. 

Now, for 7 bloggers who I feel embody the spirit of this award.  Or maybe just 7 people that I want to know some honest crap about?

  1. The Funny Sister.  I miss her blogs.  I miss her too, but I’ll take a blog for now.
  2. WendiWinn {she likes stuff}.  She won’t do it though.  But she still embodies the spirit and all that.
  3. Mommy’s Heart.  She’s always honest.  And trustworthy.  And loyal.  She’s pretty much awesome.
  4. I’m Just Sayin’.  IT’S BEEN TWO MONTHS!!!
  5. I’m not going to link to it, but Kay-Kay, I’d like to see what you would have to say.
  6. Sounds Like Tomatoes’ Honest Scrap post is here.
  7. A Parent’s Life To Behold’s is here.

(No, it’s not cheating.  I would’ve tagged them because they embody the spirit!  It’s all about the spirit!  Honest crap!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2009 1:41 pm

    I appreciate your honest (s)crap, truly I do!!! For it was truly honest, and I am feeling I should go back and change my answers…no, I won’t! 😉

    BTW, do you think you would have been friends with a girl that had a stacked-out bob and wore neon and high tops every day?

    HIGH TOPS! Oh my!

  2. January 22, 2009 12:58 am

    you’re right.

Leave a comment