Skip to content

The Bachelor. Yes, I’m watching.

January 5, 2009

I’ve watched a couple of seasons of “The Bachelorette,” but I couldn’t usually stomach “The Bachelor” until the end of the seasons, but even then, it wasn’t often that I tuned in.  I did watch last season’s Bachelorette because I felt so bad for DeAnna after being ditched by whoever that guy was.  (Even if I did remember, his name isn’t worth mentioning.  Jerk.)  However, DeAnna disappointed me after dumping Jason as he knelt down to propose.  Jerkette.  (I get it, she was into Jesse — but letting him get down on one knee?  I don’t care what the producers said!  That was not cool!)

So I feel like I have to endure this season.  I’m invested in Jason and his 3-year-old son. 

I started tonight’s episode a little late (I *heart* DVR), and as I’m watching the interviews with the hopeful bachelorettes, I’m scared for Jason.  RUN, MAN!  Scary.

Don’t get me wrong.  I can be real — as painful as it is to admit, I would’ve done that show in a hot second if I’d had the opportunity post-divorce.  I would’ve believed wholeheartedly that it could work.  I also would’ve been cut in Round One, and gone off sobbing feeling like the 13-year-old me who blew it in Round One of the county spelling bee.  (True story.  But I did win the spelling bee for the whole junior high, so I beat 8th and 9th graders, including the pastor’s son, who was a stinkin’ genius.  I’m still very proud of that, can you tell?)

Anyway, I would’ve done it.  Believed in it.  Gone home crying after the first night.

So I’m watching.  Wondering how many times they’re going to show Jason with his shirt off.  Wondering how much was spent by the bachelorettes on fake tans, fake nails, fake hair color.  Teeth whitening, enough fancy dresses to wear for each rose ceremony (although you may only have the chance to wear ONE), however much it costs to have documents doctored so that you can say you’re 25 when you’re really 31.

It hurts to watch these women.  Not just because they make flat out fools of themselves, but to know I would’ve blended in oh, so well at one time.  Ouch.  It brings me even more admiration for my single friends who are living their lives for God and for themselves, and not consumed with finding Mr. or Ms. Right.  Because they aren’t going to settle.  DON’T SETTLE!  Keep it up. 

I’m sorry, but so far The Widow scares me the most.  A lot.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ourfamilylife permalink
    January 6, 2009 1:36 pm

    I have to tell you something funny that I noticed last night.

    I missed the first show because I forgot to tape it while at small group. Anyhow, when I got home I read your fb status about Stephanie. Then, I scrolled down a ways to see someone else I know talking about her. The only difference was, she said that she was a sorority sister with her and someone responded about how great she is. I giggled when I saw the contrary statuses. 🙂 I need to watch it online and see what she’s like now. I’m intrigued.

  2. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    January 6, 2009 2:24 pm

    Hmm. I don’t watch the Bachelor or the Bachelorette anymore. All the wasted kissing gets on my last nerve. “Hi! I just met you but let’s make out with a camera on our smooshy faces!”

    No, I’m saving my TV time for American Idol and The Biggest Loser. That is high quality entertainment.

  3. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    January 6, 2009 2:42 pm

    WAIT! I totally forgot the most important TV show of all time! LOST!

  4. Jen permalink
    January 7, 2009 5:26 pm

    So yea, the widow freaks me out too!!! I think she’s hiding some things….. I can’t quite put my finger on it. Anywho, DARN IT that the teacher from Columbus, Ohio got the boot the first night….booooo! I thought I liked this guy!!! (just kidding)… Anywho, I hope he does find a nice gal for himself, I think he’s sweet.

Leave a Reply

