Skip to content

Friends

January 5, 2009

Sappy and cheesy.  Sing it with me, people.

Keep smilin’,  keep shinin’
Knowing you can always count on me, for sure.
That’s what friends are for.
In good times, in bad times,
I’ll be on your side forever more.
Oh, that’s what friends are for…

Okay, put the lighters down.

And I think Michael W. Smith was right.  Friends really are friends forever, if the Lord’s the Lord of them.  And a lifetime isn’t too long to live as friends.

And you know — I’ll be there for yoooouuuu, ’cause you’re there for me toooooo.

2008.  A year of new friendships.  Rekindled friendships.  Infiltrated friendships.

2008 showed me that there are wonderful, caring people around me.  Generous with their time.  Willing to listen.  Perfectly capable of handing me a 2×4 when I need to build bridges rather than burn them.

So in 2009, I hope that I get the chance to be that kind of friend to others.  As difficult as it was to learn to accept help, it sometimes is even more difficult to know how to be a help. 

I’ll be here for yooouuu.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 6, 2009 2:57 pm

    i need to buy a pick-up truck.

    i’m glad we’re friends. (insert additional sappiness here.)

Leave a Reply

