Skip to content

Sick Day

December 3, 2008

I’ve been feeling kind of crappy the past couple of days.  This morning I didn’t wake up until a friend happened to call me approximately thirty minutes before I had to be out the door.

I looked at the clock and really considered just calling in sick.  I was miserable.  I couldn’t breathe, I ached, all I wanted to do was curl back up underneath the covers and sleep for another five or six hours…

That settled it.  I was calling in sick.

Only… wait just a gosh darn second…

couldn’t call in sick.  Stay-at-home-moms don’t get sick days.

What they do get, however, is the opportunity to rush around getting themselves ready, obviously forsaking numerous steps in their routine, including a shower.  Then they get to rush into their kids’ bedroom and get them ready to be out the door in approximately 17 minutes.  All while feeling miserable and sluggish and hoping desperately something doesn’t drip from their nose because there’s not a second to grab a stinkin’ tissue.

Then they get to parade themselves out in public wearing whatever they threw on (and in my case, it was almost my pajamas), looking as sick as they feel.

Don’t you dare get me wrong, I love being at home with my girls.  I love that my youngest must have sensed my discomfort and chose to sit in my lap watching Monsters, Inc., for most of the morning, allowing me to shut my eyes for a few minutes here and there.  I know how fortunate and blessed I am.

I do, however, still look forward to a day when I can just be sick.  When I can make myself a bed on the couch, pull up a table to eat chicken noodle soup and sip regular Coke.  When I can put You’ve Got Mail in and enjoy every second of it, or just fall asleep to it with my arm dangling off the sofa, my fingertips dangerously close to a trash can full of used Kleenex.

Ah, the things I aspire to…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2008 11:29 pm

    i’m sick everyday. mentally.

    oh. a giraffe!

  2. ourfamilylife permalink
    December 4, 2008 10:49 am

    I had everyone of those feelings this week. After going to the doctor to find out that I have strep, I thought I would be able to just curl up in bed and be sick. WRONG!!! Although I love being a SAHM, there are times that I wish I could be taken care of instead of taking care of someone else. 😦

    I apologize profusely if I was the one that made you sick!!!! 😦
    I have strep, Tyler is getting over a sinus/ear infection, and Jacob wasn’t diagnosed with anything except for a red throat, but the doc prescribed him something anyhow. We are ALL on a different sort of antibiotic. Fun times!

  3. December 4, 2008 12:38 pm

    Amen. lol! Hope you’re feeling better soon!! hugs!

  4. Joyanna permalink
    December 4, 2008 4:58 pm

    I was just talking to my husband about how we don’t have sick days. because why?……..you guessed it- I’m sick too. Who isn’t right now, huh? He said, “you can have a sick day” to which I laughed and explained how he’d have to take one just for me to have one- if that’s possible. because we all know that when there’s a mommy in the next room trying to get some sleep, there’s a child/multiple children on the other side of the door and well…that just never seems to work out ; ) hope you get better soon.

  5. Sonya permalink
    December 5, 2008 8:29 pm

    Ironic you posted this because I’m getting my first dose of it since Sophie was born. Kyle isn’t feeling well and honestly, I’ve caught myself being a bit miffed. Why? I practically lost my you-know-what giving birth and could barely walk or sit for weeks, yet I STILL got up to feed the baby, kept the house up and blah blah blah. Yet, waaaa, he’s achy!? I was achy, all right, too.

    Not to sound totally sexist, but, it just reconfirms that women are the greater of the sexes. I could go on, but, I won’t go there 😉 Since becoming a Mom, I have a newfound respect for us women.

Leave a Reply

