Skip to content

What are you REALLY thankful for?

November 26, 2008

Ah, Thanksgiving.  My favorite holiday.  It’s all about family.  It’s all about a group of loved ones sitting around a table together, enjoying each other’s company and the finest of foods.  Especially my two favorites: cranberry sauce with the lines, and Pillsbury crescent rolls.  Yes, that’s right, food straight from the can — I know you’re shocked.  (But I am responsible for the apple pie, and it will not be out of a box.)

It’s so sweet when everyone gets the opportunity to express what they’re thankful for.  Family is a popular choice.  The bounty of food set before us, always a classic.   Bless the meal and those who prepared it.  Amen.

This year, I think I’m going to be real with my thanks.  My gratitude is for things far less noble, and I’m not afraid to admit it.  So, in honor of this season of appreciativeness, here are ten things I am giving props to:

1.  PBS.  If not for PBS, I wouldn’t know anything about Celtic Thunder.  My fangirl days would have ended when NKOTB decided to sing about dirty dogs, and I would have never known the thrill of hugging a freshly showered Irishman.

2.  MySpace/Facebook.  Without MySpace and Facebook, I would have never reconnected with so many friends from my youth.  If not for them, I wouldn’t have started blogging.  So actually, if you like reading this blog, you should be thankful for them too.  Go ahead, give thanks, I’ll wait.

3.  Awesome bras.  I have nursed two children, so the girls ain’t what they used to be.  God bless Playtex.  And Maidenform.  And that Target brand that I love so much.  Thank you for your support.  And for helping me to look decent in a t-shirt.

4.  Children’s programming.  Before I had kids, I wrinkled my nose at the idea of plopping a child in front of the TV for any amount of time.  Then I needed 15 minutes to get ready, and Noggin became my best friend.  I don’t even mind that I hum a few bars of The Backyardigans throughout the day.  Yooouuurrrr backyard friends, the Backyaaaarrrdigans…

5.  Little Caesar’s $5 Carry Out Pizzas.  On a night when things are hectic, all that separates us from a hot (or at least pretty warm) meal is $5.30.

6.  Naptime.  One child slumbering peacefully in a crib.  The other curled up on the couch.  Silence.  Pure bliss. 

7.  DVR.  Digital cable with SmartBox: $59.99.  DVR service: $6.95.  Never missing an episode of Lost: Priceless.

8.  Online public records.  I’m curious.  No, not nosy, curious.  Big difference.  But sometimes I do get really bored, so I probably know what you paid for your house, or about that speeding ticket you got when you were 19.  Seriously, though, every single girl (and I guess guy) should be thankful for online public records.  They really assist in the selection process.

9.  Crayons and kids’ cups at restaurants.  I’ve never had to buy a box of crayons.  I did for variety’s sake, otherwise every picture would’ve been colored in primaries.  Even though we paid for the meal, sticking the crayons in the diaper bag and grabbing the plastic cup on the way out make me feel like I’ve gotten a little something extra.

10.  Family and friends.  Oh, come on!  I’m not completely shallow and heartless! 

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!  Eat something out of a can just for me!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2008 4:02 pm

    I agree with number 5 and 7!

  2. November 26, 2008 4:24 pm

    perfect list. perfect bizarro list, actually. well – except for the whole celtic thunder things. skirts and legwarmers. there. i said it. i had to.

    and you *know* i love the public records. maybe even more than you do.

    and i’m thankful for you. because without you, i wouldn’t know me. bizarro.

  3. November 27, 2008 2:45 am

    1. Like you I am thankful for Celtic Thunder and PBS for bringing them to our attention. Check out my Google Knol: http://knol.google.com/k/mark-regan/celtic-thunder/3oo5lhklxb3l0/2#
    2. Also am thankful to Sharon Browne and Phil Coulter for harnessing all that energy with such synergy.
    3. Again, like you, I am grateful for open records, only I get PAID to use them. I am a fugitive recovery agent, and FIND fugitives using the internet. Since you like to Google, maybe you could earn a few bucks here and there doing some skip-tracing via the internet. Might as well get paid for it if you are doing it anyway.
    4. I am also grateful for Hayley Westenra (the world’s premier role model for young women — I call her the “anti-Britney). Check her out on Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hayley_Westenra) and YouTube or 56.com: http://www.56.com/u74/v_MjY5OTk0MzE.html

  4. Carrie permalink
    November 27, 2008 10:41 am

    I am thankful for you
    this made me laugh
    I love you 🙂

  5. fivemoreminutesplease permalink
    November 27, 2008 11:20 pm

    This was a great list! Before my two little monsters…er…kids, I would have turned my nose up at anyone who let their kids sit in front of thet television. I am now a hypocrite. I do use the square babysitter at times, and I am convinced that my sanity depends on it! Thanks for the funny blog…made me smile and actually laugh for the first time all week! And no one can say they don’t love those yummy rolls from a can!

  6. November 28, 2008 3:15 pm

    Wow…you have a very diverse list of things you’re thankful for. There are some good ones included!

Leave a Reply

