Skip to content

I Don’t Watch “The Office”

November 20, 2008

There.  I said it.  *whew*  Boy, am I glad I got that off my chest.

I’ve considered watching it.  I mean, there are like five seasons’ worth of inside jokes that I am totally left out of because of my failure to watch.  The Husband and I decided we’d try to watch when it started airing on TBS, and we happened to catch an episode where every other word was being bleeped.  We weren’t offended as much as we were just annoyed with it, so we never watched again.

It’s not like we don’t have our shows.  I’m trying to think about how we got into what we do watch, because I don’t think it was because of peer pressure.  We’re stubborn like that.  It’s why I’ve never seen an American Pie movie or Napoleon Dynamite.

We watch the Stargate shows because The Husband has watched them for a while.  Not when it first came out because apparently it was on Showtime or something.  Anyway, he’s watched it for a while and I was surprised when I found I could tolerate it.  It doesn’t hurt that the leading men were Richard Dean Anderson, Michael Shanks, Ben Browder and Joe Flanigan.  Because they’re FUNNY!  *tsk*  What did you think?  Yes, yes, they are all good looking, but they carry sarcastic humor to new heights.

We started watching Lost by accident.  We hadn’t watched the first season, but The Husband just happened to flip to it one night during Season 2 and we were both hooked.  A friend had Season 1 on DVD and I think it only took us a little over two weeks to get entirely caught up.  We have DVR because of Lost.  That’s the only reason we got it.  When they moved it to Thursday nights and we knew we were going to be out some Thursdays, that was all it took for The Husband (who can also be known as The Miser) to decide that DVR was worth seven bucks a month.

I didn’t watch American Idol until my sister convinced me that Clay Aiken was worth hearing.  After that, I wasn’t really a follower until Season 5, and then for some reason I started watching and blogging about Season 7 and got hooked. 

We watch Eli Stone because we figured it was worth a shot, and so far we’ve really liked it.  The fact that the show can incorporate singing and dancing and not come off looking like Cop Rock impresses me.  (And I just found out that Jonny Lee Miller, the leading actor, is British!  Never would’ve guessed!)

But we don’t watch The Office.  So I will never know what she said, I will never be emotionally invested in Jim and Pam’s relationship, and I’m not going to get Dwight.

And I’m okay with that.  As long as you can still accept me and my non-Office-watching self, we’ll all be okay.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2008 4:23 pm

    How about 30 Rock? I prefer it to The Office.

  2. freebutterfly permalink*
    November 20, 2008 4:27 pm

    I wanted to try 30 Rock but it never fit into the schedule.

    I like your blog, thanks for the comment so I could check that out!

  3. November 20, 2008 10:42 pm

    HA!!! I hate The Office. There, I said it! 🙂 I spent 7 years in an office…and man, that show hits too close to home. Way too uncomfortable for me. Painful, in fact. I tried watching it twice and shut it off half way through. UGH!!

    (…and I was so happy when I got to spend the next 3 years writing from home…)

    My favorite show right now is Chuck.

  4. Leslie Stanton permalink
    November 21, 2008 8:35 am

    We have never seen an episode of The Office and have never cared to. We don’t have the first clue about any of the characters or anything at all and are totally fine with that! We have “our shows” too, but mostly none of the ones you watch. We did watch Stargate for a while and enjoyed. But don’t do Lost (we tried because we LOVED Alias, but we just could not get into Lost) We don’t do Idol or any of the other “reality” shows except Dancing with the Stars.

    We did try to watch Napoleon Dynamite, but it was a waste of our time. We almost turned it off half way through, but kept watching out of morbid curiosity because we thought it just *had* to get better with the way so many of our friends raved about it. It did NOT get better. 😛

  5. November 21, 2008 4:42 pm

    Shame on you! 🙂

  6. Heather permalink
    November 23, 2008 9:53 am

    I hate The Office. Tried for 20 minutes and it was so uncomfortable, and frankly totally NOT funny, that I turned it off and have never looked back. I haven’t seen any of the mainstream primetime TV shows, except for Keith Olbermann and Rachel Maddow. I tend to stick to History, Science, and NatGeo for my entertainment, which I fear is a sign of my age because I totally love them.

  7. Cristy permalink
    November 24, 2008 11:23 pm

    All I can say is…you’re missing out. That’s what she said. Ha! Anyway, I will still be your friend. As long as I can watch it, I am ok.

  8. November 25, 2008 4:50 pm

    wow. you know the names of the “the office” people? i don’t even know their names.

    remember our pact. we’ll not watch “the office” together.

  9. November 27, 2008 8:59 am

    I do not watch “The Office” either. Stupidity hurts me physically after what I dealt with at my last job. So I just can’t watch. I’m with Sandra. “Chuck” is where it’s at, man.

    You just outed me as a Clay Aiken fan. I don’t know what to think about that now.

  10. November 28, 2008 3:16 pm

    I will stand by your side, as part of the “I’ve never seen ‘The Office’ club.” I have no shame….

  11. Lori F. permalink
    December 7, 2008 1:55 pm

    lol, i love the office, but..alas, i will still keep on loving ya, regardless of you watching it or not. i am very much into Chuck right now, too, along with Hereos!! 🙂

  12. December 12, 2008 3:22 pm

    I will pretend I didn’t read this…OR, I can just practice grace and mercy for the thing(s) to come, that will inevitably come along, about me that appalls you to your core…wait, did I just type that out loud?

Leave a Reply

