Skip to content

Fangirl Friends

November 11, 2008

Back when I first laid eyes on George, Paul, Ryan, Keith and Damian, PBS was offering tickets to a local concert for the rock bottom price of a $180 donation to the station.  I thoughtfully told The Husband that since our anniversary was in the same month, maybe that could be our night out…  and he was considering it!  (Have I mentioned how awesome The Husband is?)

I am a pretty practical person (as in very practical, I’m not describing myself as pretty and practical), and I realized quickly that the concert was on a weeknight, it didn’t start until 8 p.m. and was at least an hour away from home.  It would be such a late night, with much to do the following day.  It would also mean that the girls would have to be taken care of before The Husband got home from work.  It also cost a lot of money.  Blah, blah, blah, and yada, yada, yada.

The Practical Me shushed the Fangirl inside and won the argument.  I mentioned all those things to The Husband and he shrugged and said, “Fine.”  Had he said, “Are you sure about that?”… Well, I’m pretty sure Fangirl would’ve seized the opportunity to beat the ever-living stuffing out of The Practical Me in order to shriek, “No!  I’m not sure!  I want to go!”  Alas, he said “Fine” and The Practical Me smugly stuck her tongue out at Fangirl.

Now, what kind of Fangirl doesn’t try to recruit more people?  It is no fun being a Fangirl alone.  Ask any former (or current!) NKOTB fan.  I told several friends and family members about Celtic Thunder.  I did manage to get my mom interested enough to purchase both of their CDs and the DVD of their concert.  Score!  And of course, my oldest daughter still wants to listen to them in the car and can now sing A Thiarna, déan trócaire,  A Chríost, déan trócaire with conviction.  A handful of friends humored me by watching a couple of YouTube clips and blithely remarking that yes, they were great singers and yes, they were handsome.  And there were those who couldn’t get past the kilts and knee socks.  (Not skirts and legwarmers, geez.)

One friend, however, fell and fell hard.  She got me.  She was catching what I was throwing.  Not only did she become a bonafide Fangirl herself, but she converted co-workers as well.  They all decided that they would go to the concert together.  She offered to purchase a ticket for me when she purchased theirs.

Fangirl gave The Practical Me a swift kick in the shin.  Didn’t work.

Then Fangirl Friend sent me an e-mail.  She asked me simply if there was an available free ticket and transportation was provided, would I want to go to the concert with her?  Uh, would I?  WOULD I?!  Even The Practical Me couldn’t argue with that!!  I AM GOING TO THE CONCERT, BAY-BEEEE!!!

So, Fangirl Friend… thank you, thank you a thousand times over!  Thank you for feeding my own Fangirl Frenzy, for enabling my CT addiction, and most importantly being the kind of friend that you are.  The kind of friend where… if I should become a stranger, know that it would make me more than sad

Bring smelling salts.  I don’t know how we’re going to handle this.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2008 11:24 pm

    so… you love fangirl friend. i get that. she sounds amazing.

    but what about the friend that coined “skirts and leg warmers”? i think that friend sound pretty awesome, too. and by that, i mean pretty and awesome.

    love, ga-ga. (oh darn. sorry. force of habit.)

  2. November 11, 2008 11:25 pm

    darn.

    *sounds*

    a comment to correct the grammar.

  3. freebutterfly permalink*
    November 11, 2008 11:29 pm

    Dude. That friend IS pretty awesome. As is the friend watching the girls so I can have plenty of time to get over there. I have pretty amazing friends, that are pretty AND amazing. Even the ones who live in another state and haven’t yet watched a CT clip. 😉

  4. November 12, 2008 1:18 am

    That is pretty awesome of your Fangirl Friend!

    And I’m sorry, but I’m just not picking up what you’re putting down with this whole Celtic Thunder thing. Then again, you never got it with Clay Aiken. So we’re even.

  5. November 12, 2008 3:49 pm

    Even us guys are swept up by the Amazing Celtic Thunder performance that is taking America by storm. Not for the same reasons as you girls, though. We agree with you that their music, including the harmonies and orchestration and lighting, and set, and choreography combine for a synergisticly enjoyable experience.

    But between you and me, we guys like watching the Celtic Thunder gals as much as you girls like watching the Celtic Thunder guys. You might think the guys are handsome. Well, take it from me, us guys ALL agree: Megan and Zara are flat out CUTE! BEAUTIFUL. SEXY. (And talented, too — see? We did notice their talents as well.)

Leave a Reply

