Skip to content

Build a bridge…

November 5, 2008

… and get over it.

I’m writing this before any announcements have been made, before things have been decided.  Because it doesn’t matter who wins, the message is the same.

——-

When my older daughter gets scared, we tell her that God is protecting her, watching over her.  It gives her comfort. 

God can do that.  As the Veggie Tales so succinctly put it, God is bigger than the boogie man.  He’s bigger than Godzilla or the monsters on TV.  God is bigger than the boogie man, and He’s watching out for you and me.

We believe it when we tell it to our kids.  Why can’t we, adults with a heck of a lot more knowledge of what God has done for us, believe that God is bigger than an election?  Bigger than whoever is placed in the Oval Office?  Whichever way it goes, do you really think God is going to be surprised?

I’ve gotten a lot, a lot, of e-mails over the few past months, and with my obvious bias they have been slanted in one direction.  I have a feeling that if the election doesn’t go the way that the senders want it to, there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.  Maybe even some tearing of clothes and a resurgence of sackcloth.

I think I’m going to hold on to things like this though…

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own.  (Matthew 6:31, NIV)

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you.  I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.  (John 14:27, NIV)

Not to mention…

Submit yourselves for the Lord’s sake to every authority instituted among men: whether to the king, as the supreme authority, or to governors, who are sent by him to punish those who do wrong and to commend those who do right.  For it is God’s will that by doing good you should silence the ignorant talk of foolish men.  Live as free men, but do not use your freedom as a cover-up for evil; live as servants of God.  Show proper respect to everyone: Love the brotherhood of believers, fear God, honor the king.  (1 Peter 2:13-17, NIV, emphasis mine)

So, in other words really: Peace out.  God’s still God.  And if you’re not happy with who is going to be leader of our nation, then I guess you better pray harder for him.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2008 12:28 am

    yes yes yes.

  2. ourfamilylife permalink
    November 5, 2008 12:30 pm

    I wish more people had this attitude. Although we don’t agree politically, we don’t have to be ugly or whine. I didn’t in the last election. 🙂 Okay, maybe a little.

  3. ourfamilylife permalink
    November 5, 2008 12:30 pm

    Correction: I didn’t get ugly, just whined a bit.

  4. sonya permalink
    November 6, 2008 8:10 am

    Great perspective, Vanessa, as always. I know we voted for different candidates, so, I appreciate you taking this approach and wish more people did. The ugliness is not needed and won’t fix the country. The result is what it is. Like it or not, we have to throw our support behind the President-elect…and more importantly, pray, as you said.

Leave a comment