Skip to content

Pure of mind, darnit…

October 6, 2008

Thanks to my daughter’s fondness of Celtic Thunder, I hear them in my car.  I see them on TV at home.  Not that I’m complaining, really.  (Because have you heard them yet?  Why not?  What’s your excuse?  There’s something for everyoneSeriously.  Jump on my bandwagon.)

Anyway, I’m inundated with them.  So much so that they have now seeped into my subconscious.

I had a dream, and there they were.  Well, I think all of them were there, but mostly I remember one in particular — the young blonde, Keith Harkin.  Not a bad one to be center stage, right?  (You have to look at the picture.  Go ahead, I’ll wait.  Right click, open it up.)  Anyhow, he was there, I was there, and he slipped a napkin into my hand.  I looked down and written on it was, Meet me here at 2 a.m.  The napkin was from a restaurant, and apparently I could travel through time because the next thing I knew, it was two in the morning and I was at the restaurant searching for him.

I looked and looked, but I couldn’t find him anywhere.  I kept looking at the napkin, looking around at the few people who were up at 2 a.m. in this particular restaurant, then at my watch.  Then I went outside to a patio-type area and looked up at the sign, then I looked down the road.  Apparently this particular surreal dining establishment was a chain, and there was another one — in walking distance.  As the realization set in that he was probably waiting at that particular one, I took a deep breath and started heading that way.

What was in store for me?

The world will never know.  I woke up.  Not even to my alarm.  I just. woke. up.  As if my mind was reminding me of this, right? 

That’s some serious conditioning of the mind, y’all.  Limits won’t even be tested during a REM cycle.  Wild.  (Or, not so wild, which in this case is a good thing.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    October 6, 2008 5:20 pm

    My only question is, just what restaurant is open at 2 a.m. in your dream world, because here in reality the only place open around here is Waffle House, and that’s not exactly the best place to meet a dream guy. So maybe, knowing that, you woke up lest you hook up with a guy that chooses to meet chicks at a place where most of the staff is missing teeth. You dodged a bullet on that one.

  2. Mindy permalink
    October 16, 2008 11:31 pm

    I know what happened. You went to the other place and he was waiting for you. He said, “I am terribly sorry to bother you so late, but I saw your incredibly cute accountant friend and I was wondering if I could get her number.” You replied “Of course you can have her number!” And Keith and the incredibly cute accountant sailed away to some island. And there was much rejoicing…

    I am PRETTY sure that is how the rest of the dream went.

  3. freebutterfly permalink*
    October 16, 2008 11:55 pm

    THAT makes perfect sense!! That must’ve been how it ended! Thanks! 😉 ❤

Leave a Reply

