Skip to content

Weight Lifting

October 2, 2008

 First and foremost, to everyone who posted comments, sent messages, e-mailed, called, and most of all, PRAYED…  Wow.  Thank you so, so much.  I have been amazed by the support and love I’ve received, especially at simply the onset of something that could turn out to be nothing! 

 Now, to briefly update.  You are all my witnesses — the oncologist said there is a 95% chance that it is not cancer.  I just smiled typing that.  It is with cautious optimism that I breathe a sigh of relief, because his main basis for it is my age.  (That would be my young age, for you smarty-pants kiddos.)  While I realize I’d be quite young to deal with something like ovarian cancer, I was also quite young (25) and quite female when a precancerous adenoma was found on my colon.  I’m just a rare gem, peeps.

 So what happens next?  The CT scan to check out my spleen and the surrounding areas is next week, and the findings will be reviewed by whatever doctor checks those things after they’re done, my PCP, and the oncologist.  We’ll see if I have the distinct pleasure of having more than one spleen.  In 12 weeks, I will return to the oncologist for an ultrasound to check my ovary again.  He said that even if it were to be cancer, not much was going to happen in that time.  If it hasn’t gone away and is still causing problems, there is still a chance that it could be removed — but only the one.  Do you know what that means?  NO EARLY MENOPAUSE!!  I don’t know who was more excited to hear that, me or The Husband.

 The bottom line… At this point there are still two unidentified masses taking residence in my mid-section.  We are still praying for two spleens and a cyst, and the spleen part will be determined next week most likely.  In 12 weeks, the ovary will be examined again.  Patience, it is not one of my strong suits.  I think that’s because in my life I haven’t really had to wait on much (spoiled, I know)…

 The excellent, most praise-worthy news is that an expert in the field feels there is a 95% chance that it is not cancer. 

 Smile when you read that, sucka!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. sandi permalink
    October 3, 2008 1:14 am

    That professional opinion is fabulous news! (made even more so with the unexpected appearance and okay sign of Mr.T) I love you so much and will continue to pray for all good things to come your way! ::giggles and hugs all around::

  2. Cristy permalink
    October 3, 2008 8:32 am

    That is good news. I will continue to pray!

  3. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    October 3, 2008 9:46 am

    So I told you that if you lose your hair if it’s cancer that I would shave my head in a show of solidarity. Now after seeing Mr. T, I’m thinking I’ll have a mo-hawk instead.

  4. Sonya permalink
    October 4, 2008 7:35 pm

    Such awesome news, Vanessa! And, LOVE the Mr. T picture 😉 Just got in from Tampa and will be catching up on emails tomorrow…but, yes, of course I’d love to photograph you and the fam and your shots were great 🙂 Keep it up!!

  5. Kelly permalink
    October 5, 2008 9:29 pm

    I have a mass on my spleen as well. They noticed it on a CT scan a few years back. Apparently it is no big deal and said I probably had it since birth. I also have something at the end of my brain stem but again…just “special” i guess. HA! I just say it’s b/c of my big brains. HA! Will keep praying for you!

    Kelly

Leave a Reply

