Skip to content

Medical Drama

October 1, 2008

Why must I be the example, people?  I already told you all about how you should always have things checked out, right?  Remember?  So why couldn’t someone else have something going on, remember my post, and tell me about how they were inspired to go to the doctor?  Huh? 

Noooo, you had to let me be the guinea pig, right?  *sigh*  Losers.  Take one for the team!!

I had a pain and it hurt real bad.  It was on my right side, below my ribs and above my hip, and it was starting to get more severe.  I joked with The Husband that it could be my appendix and had him look up which side the appendix was on.  (He knew himself — probably most people do.  I am not most people, which you will learn more about shortly.)  So I joked with my mom about it, and she told me about someone she knew who ignored some pain and her appendix burst.  I’m all about not letting things burst inside me, so I called the doctor’s office to see if I could get an appointment.

They asked me if I could come in RIGHT THEN.  Errrr… Well, no, I had to pick up Big Sister at school.  Could I come in RIGHT AFTER THAT?  Sure.  No problem.  I packed up snacks for the girls, extra juices, and took off. 

With two of the most well-behaved children I’ve ever witnessed, I waited patiently to see the doctor.  When she came in, she pushed on my tummy and expressed concern that there could be something wrong with my gallbladder.  So I was sent next door to the hospital for testing, STAT.  Blood tests, urine tests, ultrasounds.  Very thorough.  My wonderful mother came and picked up the girls, and four hours later I left the hospital after having been sufficiently poked and prodded.

Three business days later I sat in the doctor’s office awaiting my results.  When she walked in, she looked at me and I instantly regretted my choice of a caring, sympathetic doctor.

She told me she didn’t like the test results.  She said more, words like masses, ovary, spleen, CT scan ASAP, oncologist, and finally, Are you done having children? 

The good news: my gallbladder is fine!

The not-so-good news: I have a mass in my spleen and a mass in one of my ovaries.  They need to be checked out.  Obviously, worst case scenario is that there’s an ovarian mass lurking and a tumor in my spleen — but they could both be benign, too.  (Gotta look on the bright side, people.)  Best case scenario is that I have a simple (but kinda big) cyst in/on/whatever my ovary, and I have two spleens.  It’s actually called an accessory spleen, and if you know me, you know how I love to accessorize, so isn’t that just fitting?

I boo-hooed in the doctor’s office — mostly because I was expecting worst case scenario: removal of the gallbladder.  I was certainly not expecting removal of the ovaries to come up, or a trip to an oncologist.

Am I scared?  Yeah, a little, but it’s way too soon to get all crazy.  It’s fear of the unknown at this point, which is really a waste of time and energy, don’t you think?  To get your panties all in a bunch when it’s possible that there’s absolutely nothing to get worked up over?  You don’t get the time back that you spent worrying.  Besides, Philippians 4:6 does say to not be anxious about anything, right?  Pray with thanksgiving.

I will count my blessings and know that whatever happens, whether it be a cyst and two spleens or something a little more sinister that requires some extra attention, God is in control. 

And again I will say — GO TO THE DOCTOR!  Especially you moms who are so busy fussing over the rest of the family!  Take time for yourself!  Even if there’s absolutely nothing wrong, you can spend a few minutes reading a really outdated magazine (or a good book if you come prepared) while you wait!  Score!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori F. permalink
    October 1, 2008 2:24 am

    I am praying for you, and i must say as a mom that puts of things about me (i.e. when i’m hurting, or sick)way, way on the back burner all the time. you’re…like… my hero! 🙂 love you dear!!! oh,oh, i watched a “behind the music” on NKOTB today, and thought of you the whole time. 🙂

  2. Carrie permalink
    October 1, 2008 6:39 am

    Ok so I didn’t know anything was wrong until I read your email and figured I needed to head on over to your blog. WOWZA. Let me know what I can do–take the girls, go sit with you at the dr., whatever.

    Also, I can come get the book from you whenever. Just let me know. You are in my prayers. I admire your strength.

    LURVE YOU!!!

  3. October 1, 2008 6:46 am

    I am sending P & PT your way. I will also admit that I have been putting off a checkup with my doctor. I think today I will call and make those 🙂 You are a strong woman and I know you can handle anything that comes your way.

  4. October 1, 2008 7:52 am

    will be praying for you.

    let us know what we can do.

  5. Amy permalink
    October 1, 2008 8:36 am

    Let me know if I can help. Grace has been wanting to see Carson and Carson would love to see Grace. I am praying for you. Please call me if I can help or if you need anything.

  6. Angel permalink
    October 1, 2008 9:13 am

    Oh my Ness! I am soooo sorry to hear about your news. You know as well as I do that this kind of thing can change a person’s life forever. I have been where you are. If you need me at any time please let me know. Keep your head up toots and let God lead the way. You will be just fine. You are a child of the spirit not of this world so don’t let those “nasty little thoughts” get info your head and permeate your body. You are a strong woman and you can take whatever comes your way. You will be in our prayers and our hearts.

  7. October 1, 2008 9:24 am

    Let me know if you need help in ANY way. I don’t mind having the girls, helping you around the house etc.. just let me know!

    We’ll be keeping you in our thoughts.

  8. October 1, 2008 9:50 am

    Hey…I am praying for you and your body!

  9. Cristy permalink
    October 1, 2008 11:00 am

    Vanessa,
    Thank you for sharing your experiences. You are wonderful. I just want you to know that Rich and I will be lifting you up in prayer. I know that waiting is so hard, so I’ll pray for peace as you wait for the results. Know that we love you and we are so grateful for your friendship.

    Cristy

  10. October 2, 2008 10:18 am

    I’m praying for you!

  11. Allison permalink
    October 2, 2008 5:52 pm

    Vanessa,
    I am so sorry to hear that all this is going on. You should know that you are just wonderful to share your experiences the way that you do with laughter and faith. Know that you are in our prayers and let us know if we can help in any way (were close enough to be almost neighbors:-) ) Take care, and keep laughing!
    Allison

  12. Brandi permalink
    October 4, 2008 8:25 am

    Hey Vanessa, I just now read your blog- I had no idea this was going on. I will be praying for you. Let me know if there is anything you need i.e. babysitter during any Dr appoints or tests.

    Love,
    Brandi

Leave a Reply

