Skip to content

Estrogen

September 11, 2008

It’ll make a woman of me yet.

There’s a lot about me that’s pretty girly-girl.  I like to wear makeup.  I love to wear jewelry.  I like my fingernails long (even if they aren’t acrylic), and I always keep my toenails painted.  I fully expect batting my eyelashes to get me what I want from The Husband, although it hardly ever works.

There are things about me that are decidedly not typical of a woman, or at least what’s typically expected of a woman.  As much as I enjoy having painted toenails, I don’t care to get pedicures.  They don’t relax me in the slightest.  I have had poetry written for me, and unless it rhymed, I so didn’t get it, nor did I appreciate it.  When a boyfriend told me he’d selected a song to be “ours,” I had to work hard to keep my eyes from rolling.

I have seen eyes widen and mouths gape when I admit that I haven’t seen “The Notebook” or “A Walk to Remember” — so I don’t dare admit that I have absolutely no desire to see either of them.

So imagine my surprise when all of a sudden, I have the urge to (*gasp*) cuddle with The Husband.  I actually can’t believe I was able to type that word — cuddle.  Geez, that’s almost as bad as snuggle, and I think I might want to do that too.  I long for (I’m wincing as I type this) romance.  Maybe not poetry or a song dedication, but something.  … Something …

This new woman, I think she must be silenced.  I mean, that’s not really fair to him, is it?  Six years and out of nowhere sweet nothings (not the PG-13 or R-rated variety) need to be whispered into my ear?  What’s next?  Will I want flowers?  That’s so impractical!  They turn brown and die!

Who is this woman, and what did she do with the old me?  And will she go away???

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2008 8:34 pm

    I had no desire to watch “The Notebook” either. One day it came on and I was too lazy to get up and get the remote to change the channel. I actually really enjoyed it, and you know I’m not one for sappy chick flicks. I think you’d like it!

  2. Leslie Stanton permalink
    September 12, 2008 7:10 pm

    This had me chuckling to myself. I am much more like to old you too….but even less of a girly girl by far. It would make some serious waves around here if I turned all girly girl. I can’t imagine ever wanting flowers though….that really is just so wasteful! 🙂

  3. September 16, 2008 4:18 pm

    LoL this is really really cute and I can relate very much! I think every now and then I just want to feel that way. DEF. NOT always.
    Aww I think it is sweet.

Leave a Reply

