Skip to content

Junior High Revisited

September 10, 2008

FLASHBACK!  I’m in the classroom and even though I try to make polite conversation, no one is talking to me.  Then I sit at an empty table in the cafeteria, and no one joins me.

Except this wasn’t a flashback, this happened last night at Parents’ Night at my oldest daughter’s school. 

Maybe it’s because my hair and nails are natural, or perhaps because I didn’t carry a Coach bag.   Or maybe they sensed that my shirt was so last season and I bought it for under $10 at the Gap Outlet.

Whatever the case, the only person that was speaking to me until I saw someone I knew (after the entire presentation was over) was a dad.  He even joined me at the table I was at — and those of you who know me, you just know how comfortable I was with that

Bleah.  Not only was I dismissed by the cool kids, there were groups in the back of the auditorium who wouldn’t shut up during the presentation.  Yes, I realize I’m a big nerd, but I’m pretty sure I wasn’t the only person in attendance who actually wanted to hear more about the VPK program and what their child will be doing this school year.  Those in charge did an excellent job of ignoring the riffraff, though.

It’s not always the men who don’t grow up I guess!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. amy permalink
    September 10, 2008 4:18 pm

    We miss you at FBM preschool. Carson keeps asking where HIS Grace is.

  2. Carrie permalink
    September 10, 2008 4:41 pm

    Sometimes women can just be like that. I have a coach purse my sister gave me..lol. Next time you can take that with you.

    Whatever. I’ve learned that people who won’t speak to you just because generally, are not the people you want to be friends with anyway.

  3. Jennifer permalink
    September 10, 2008 8:18 pm

    what would they have thought of my 2 1/2 year old “free” hospital diaper bag that i proudly tote? “i’ll fight them on one foot…i’ll fight them with one paw behind my back…rrrrhhhrrr….”

  4. September 11, 2008 2:21 pm

    ok. so yesterday afternoon, i went home to find my coach purse – to give to you. seriously.

    i looked everywhere for that thing. i thought i gave it to my cousin. she said no. my sis-in-law. she said no. my other cousin. she said no.

    so i have nooo idea where that coach purse is. or when i even lost it. see how important that bag is to me?

    (i would have talked to you *just because* your shirt was sooo last season. i mean dude. i’m still using the word dude. and that word wore out over a decade or two ago!)

Leave a Reply

