Skip to content

MySpace, Facebook, God

August 27, 2008

Go to someone’s profile on MySpace or Facebook and you can learn a lot about them in just a glance.  Who their friends are, what kind of music they’re into.  On MySpace you may be able to get a glimpse into their mind by way of a blog.  On Facebook, you can look at their flair board and get an idea what their personality is like.

But would you think that you really knew the person just from their profile on a networking site?

To really get to know someone, you have to spend time with them.  You need to have some conversations, open up to them, hear what they have to say to you.  Make an effort.

I think sometimes I see God like He’s on MySpace or Facebook.  I go to church on Sunday mornings and hear the message, kind of like reading His blog.  I get little blurbs in a devotional, I’m checking out His flair.  I pray actively once in a while, but hardly ever when I’m not distracted by other things.  Kind of like having an IM conversation that keeps getting stopped.  God’s talking to me but all He sees is a red dot — even if I’m still there, my brain is offline.

I have some really great friends that I keep in touch with via MySpace and Facebook, but I desire to see them in real life too.  I make an effort to spend time with them.  How will I ever know the heart of God if I don’t make an effort to spend some quality time with Him?  

Time to get face to face with God, in His book, and invite Him into my space.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katye permalink
    September 2, 2008 10:46 pm

    Hang on to this one… It needs to be published somewhere for Generation ___ – what do they even call them now?

Leave a Reply

