Skip to content

10 Secrets

August 22, 2008

It is Day Four of Fay Watch.  She’s out of our area now (however we’re still getting rain bands!!), but there are no kid-friendly locations open.  The libraries, my last hope, are still closed.  My brilliant idea of a carpet picnic was met with great resistance from the younger child.  She showed her displeasure by smacking strawberry applesauce off the spoon as I tried to feed her.  It splattered on her shirt.  On my (white, naturally) shirt.  Her sister’s arm.  The carpet.  THE RECENTLY PROFESSIONALLY CLEANED COUCH.  The older child decided to join in the mutiny and refused to eat her peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  The one made with the last two slices of bread.  Before I got to the point that “temporary insanity” could actually be used as a plea, I put the younger one in her crib and the older one in my bed to watch “Peep” and hopefully crash.

I put the footrest up on the couch and turned on the Celtic Thunder concert, which is still on my DVR.  Which The Husband keeps asking if he can delete.  Uhm, no.  It’s either four handsome Irish men and one cute Irish boy lifting my spirits while he’s gone, or it’s the sparkling almond wine from California still sitting in the fridge.

Last week I zipped through Sophie Kinsella’s Can You Keep a Secret? in record time.  I was inspired!  And I’m feeling a little crazy today.  So here are 10 secrets… Well, they won’t be secrets anymore but you get the idea.

1.)  I had a friend that was setting me up on a date.  We were meeting her husband and his co-worker out somewhere.  Two guys walked in, and my eyes were immediately drawn to the guy on the right.  Oops.  That was her husband, and I was disappointed he wasn’t my date — he was pretty cute!

2.)  I want to see the movie “House Bunny“.

3.)  I was curious about thong panties in college, so I got myself a pair.  I wore them to church one Sunday.  Hopefully anyone in the congregation that saw me squirming just thought I was being moved by the Spirit.  They were uncomfortable, to say the least.  After church, I had to do some grocery shopping in the town we were in because it boasted the closest Wal-Mart.  I had a little inner debate going as to what I was going to do about my panty predicament.  I chose to shop commando.  It was drafty.

4.)  I can do a wicked Cartman impression from Episode 102, “Weight Gain 4000”.  “Beefcake!  BEEFCAAAAKE!”  It’s scary good.

5.)  I watched several episodes of “Rock of Love” when I was sick one time.  It was a marathon.  I could’ve changed the channel, but I didn’t.  (It was the second season, and for the life of me I can’t figure out how Daisy stayed as long as she did.)

6.)  I have only been really surprised once when a surprise was attempted, and that was when The Husband proposed.  I pretended to be in shock with The Wolf proposed, I don’t know if I ever told anyone that I knew what was going on.  I did. 

7.)  I cried when my parents and sister left after moving me in at college.

8.)  I really don’t like that I didn’t finish college, it really nags at me more than I will usually admit to.  However, I don’t know that it would be worth the money to go back.  I love being a wife and mom, and I when the girls go to school, if I were to work I’d want to do something easy peasy.  I enjoyed being a receptionist, I’d probably find a part-time deal doing something like that.  Don’t need a college education for that.

9.)  When I’m bored, I randomly look up people on public records.

10.)  I’m naked under my clothes.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. soundsliketomatoes permalink
    August 22, 2008 3:27 pm

    What a coincidence!! I’m naked under my clothes, too!!

  2. Sonya permalink
    August 22, 2008 7:22 pm

    Hey, you can ALWAYS go back to school and take a course here and there 🙂 Knowledge is power, as they say! If it nags you, set goals. Never have regrets 🙂 The money aspect…totally see you on that one. I finished my master’s, loved my job, and the minute I found out I was pregnant my wheels were already turning on how to work from home. Then, I look at my degree – I like what I do and it totally taps into the analytical talent that God decided to bless me with, but, I crave creativity. I’ve often thought about another bachelor’s in photography, art, interior design (this week’s random thought). So, with that said on my random blabbering (!) is, there are always options before us – listen to that voice inside you and of course, God’s voice, too 🙂 [I apologize if I made no sense…I just woke up and hey, I’m 38 weeks pregnant].

  3. Katrina Marie permalink
    August 25, 2008 9:41 am

    7.) I cried when my parents and sister left after moving me in at college.

    Here’s one of MY secrets – I cried too. And I still cry whenever we leave for home after coming down there and whenever you guys leave after visiting us. I miss you. 😦

Leave a Reply

