Skip to content

100?

July 10, 2008

“Like, there goes another lemming!”

Following in the footsteps of Kearsie (hopefully aiding in her 100 facts withdrawals) and Missy, and others I’m sure, I begin the journey through 100 random factoids about myself.

1.  I stay up WAY too late.

2.  When I was in 6th grade, our teacher had us write a “sloppy copy” of an essay.  We were to bring them up to him when we were finished so he could make corrections.  When I brought mine, he scanned over it and didn’t mark anything.  I guess he was disappointed he wasn’t able to use his red pen, because he said, “This isn’t sloppy enough,” and proceeded to crumble up my paper.  He made a big show of it.  I was 12, short, wore glasses, had half a perm left in my hair and didn’t know how to dress.  I so didn’t need that from him.

3.  I prefer instant messaging to talking on the phone, but I prefer talking on the phone to texting.

4.  When I was in 8th grade, our English teacher had us write an ending to The Lady Or The Tiger.  She made a fuss over mine, saying she’d never seen anyone write the ending the way I did.  I wish I’d kept that paper.  She may have.

5.  I’m hungry.

6.  When I was in high school, our gifted class was supposed to re-write a fairy tale or children’s story.  I chose Chicken Little.  I remember writing about Chicken Little being so upset about the sky falling, and he thought it was because the ozone had been completely depleted.  He ran out to tell everyone, and to inform Al Gore.  He couldn’t get to Loosey Goosey because she was in the bushes with Lucky Ducky.  Foxy Woxy ended up tricking Chicken Little into following him to a fallout shelter, where a big clown with red hair was waiting.  There were illustrations for my book, and the last image was a box of Chicken McNuggets.

7.  I love free samples.  If I see a product that interests me, I’ll go to the website and see if they offer a sample.  I check walmart.com’s free sample area often.  Sometimes I get things I don’t really need, but I figure someone will.  I do not, however, have any Serenity pads in my home.

8.  When I was a senior in high school, I took AP English.  The teacher intimidated the snot out of me.  I think I got my first C for something I wrote in her class.  She asked us to write an essay about Margaret Atwood’s poem “All Bread”.  I never understood poetry so I just wrote anything that I thought sounded deep, even related it to Christianity.  I received high praise, and I believe an A, on that essay.  I may have spent 15 minutes writing it.

9.  I don’t care for most vegetables. 

10.  I remember times when I would mumble a snide comment or joke in classes and someone else would repeat what I’d said for everyone to hear, and they’d get the laughs.  That was okay with me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2008 9:30 am

    #6- BWAHAHAHAHAHA! Truly hilarious! And I, too, am obsessed with free samples. I have every tampon ever made and I don’t even use them, but they’re FREE, so I feel complelled to get them! And I was a #10, too. I told my BFF, Robin, the jokes, and she would tell everyone else and they all thought she was hilarious (which she was), but I was ok with that, too, because she thought *I* was hilarious.

  2. July 11, 2008 10:39 am

    Are we twins separated at birth??? Seriously, that school stuff brought back memories!
    Look forward to hearing more about you 🙂

  3. katrinabeckham permalink
    July 11, 2008 12:01 pm

    4. When I was in 8th grade, our English teacher had us write an ending to The Lady Or The Tiger. She made a fuss over mine, saying she’d never seen anyone write the ending the way I did. I wish I’d kept that paper. She may have.

    Uh, yeah. Guess what? SAME THING HAPPENED TO ME IN 8TH GRADE. Mrs. Roach was my teacher then. That’s so weird. Yeah for us being creative sisters. 😉

    10. I remember times when I would mumble a snide comment or joke in classes and someone else would repeat what I’d said for everyone to hear, and they’d get the laughs. That was okay with me.

    That’s because I wasn’t there with you so we could be the UNSTOPPABLE comedy duo that we are when we’re together.

  4. Heather permalink
    August 5, 2008 3:48 pm

    Was that 6th grade teacher Mr. Young? He was so awful. He went out of his way to embarrass me more times than I can count. Once we had to write a “funny story” in class. After he read mine, he said out loud, “this isn’t funny. Lisa’s is funny. Go try again and write something FUNNY this time. That was one of the worst classes in my memory.

  5. freebutterfly permalink*
    August 5, 2008 5:13 pm

    Yep, that would be him. I thought everyone loved him. I’m a little relieved that someone else felt a little tormented by him!

  6. Heather permalink
    August 8, 2008 7:19 am

    He may have been the teacher to have, but he was horrible. Matter of fact, I can say without any shadow of doubt that he was the worst teacher I have ever had (and that means a lot coming from someone that has over 160 college credit hours and no bachelor’s degree yet!!! 4 more classes, 12 more credit hours, and I’ll be done! Finally!).

Leave a Reply

