Skip to content

PDA

July 5, 2008

No, not Personal Digital Assistant.  Public Displays of Affection.  I like PDA.

I’m not talking about making out on a bench in the middle of the mall or something.  That’s tacky and just plain gross.

Holding hands, hugs, and sweet little kisses.  That’s all PDA.  All acceptable, too.  Get this — even when you’re married!   Unmarried young adult couples and newlyweds do not have the PDA market to themselves.

I love Sunday mornings.  I love it when The Husband and I sit in church.  There’s the music, there’s the message, and there’s time for us to sit still together.  When we stand to sing, if our hands are resting on the chairs in front of us, often times our fingers are intertwined.  Other times his arm will be around my waist.  During the message, his arm will lay across the back of my chair and his hand will rest on my shoulder — even if it turns him the wrong way.

Wherever we are, I don’t care if someone knows I’m whispering sweet (or dirty) nothings into his ear, he’s my husband and I’m allowed to do that.  I don’t care if I can’t disguise the fact that I’m totally enamored with him.

Of course there are times when all I want is to not have someone touching me.  There is a lot of physical contact involved in parenting.  It starts at conception and lasts until the kids don’t want you holding their hands or hugging on them.  You’re always sharing your body, and dealing with a smaller person’s as well.  However, recalling 1 Corinthians 7:3-6, my body belongs to The Husband and there’s no exception because I have kids.  As a matter of fact, I think the girls seeing a little PDA is a good thing.  (Notice I said a little.)  How’s that saying go?  “The best gift a father can give his children is to love their mother.”

It’s sweet to see couples holding hands.  We always ooh and ahh at “little old couples” holding hands as they stroll down the street.  Why do we have to wait until we’re little and old?  Reach out and touch someone now.  Show those young adults and newlyweds what they have to look forward to!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

